Welcome to UMass Libraries
Welcome to UMass Amherst!
The UMass Libraries provide well-trained and knowledgeable librarians to help you use library services to be successful in your studies.
Most of the librarians specialize in various fields of study. Subject specialists are listed by department.
Consulting with a librarian will save you time and stress! We look forward to helping you.
We're here to help you!
If you don't know where to start with your research, contact one of us, and we'll connect you with the right person.
On Sabbatical Fall 2012
What You Need to Know to Start
The University of Massachusetts has three libraries:
- W.E.B. Du Bois Library - located in the center of the campus; it is the tall, red brick building. If you look at a map of the campus, it is just west of the pond. Refer to this directory of the library for locations of books and services. You can also get a paper copy of this directory at the library at any service desk.
- Science and Engineering Library (SEL) - located in Lederle GRC low-rise, floor 2 (if you look at a map of the campus, look directly north of the pond).
- Image Collection Library - an online collection of images for teaching and research.
A good starting point is the UMass Libraries Homepage.
The library catalog for finding books can be accessed from any computer with online access. You can search all of the Five Colleges Library Collections, or just UMass. The Five Colleges consist of: Amherst College, Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts.
If you are looking for journal articles, go to the Databases link where you can search the list by database name. When accessing the Databases link from a computer that is not located at UMass, you will need to log in with your NetID username and password.