Research Databases
To find articles and books on race, gender, and identity through history, try searching a few of the Libraries' many databases. From the Libraries Homepage, click "Research Databases," then choose the area that interests you. Tip: Try expanding the History section to access American History databases, and the Cultural and Area Studies section to access databases on African American Studies, Women's Studies, and literature on other cultural groups.
Here are a few of the top databases you may want to try:
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. - Five Colleges Libraries Catalog
Search the collections of the Five College Libraries (Amherst, Hampshire, Mt. Holyoke, Smith, UMass). Use the "Request Item" feature to have books from other libraries sent here for you to pick up. - Black Studies Center
Combines important tools for Afro-American studies (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to provide access to scholarly journals, dissertations, historical newspapers, and articles. - GenderWatch
Reports and articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present. - Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
Librarian |
Isabel EspinalOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6817
iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Afro American Studies, Native American Indian Studies, Information Literacy
About Me
I do Reference and Research Consultations: Fall 2009 - Mondays 10:30-12:30 & Wednesdays 4-6, Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Tuesdays 10:30-12 noon, New Africa House Room 307. And by appointment.
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6817
iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Afro American Studies, Native American Indian Studies, Information Literacy
About Me
I do Reference and Research Consultations: Fall 2009 - Mondays 10:30-12:30 & Wednesdays 4-6, Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Tuesdays 10:30-12 noon, New Africa House Room 307. And by appointment.
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 





Loading content... please wait