This is the "Home" page of the "Arch-Des 597-01: Researching Historic Structures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Arch-Des 597-01: Researching Historic Structures  

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/historicstructures Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Art & architecture databases


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

 

Online Newspapers

Boston Globe

Center for Research Libraries
Catalog of over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, and government publications, with an emphasis on non-U.S. materials. Use interlibrary loan to request items.

Historical Boston Globe
The entire Boston Globe, searchable, in image files, 1872-1927.

Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.

LexisNexis Academic
Massive database of US and international newspapers; case and statutory law and law reviews; business periodicals, 1980-present.

Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
Historical WSJ to 1991, full-text.

Westlaw Campus Research
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980's-present.

 

Research help

For assitance, please contact Melinda McIntosh, Geneology Librarian, 545-6802; mmcintosh@library.umass.edu.

Or Peter Stern, Art & Architecture Librarian, 545-3967; pstern@library.umass.edu.

 

Databases

History databases:

America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Digital Sanborn Maps
Very detailed maps of New England towns and cities as they were in the 19th and early 20th centuries. There are several versions over time of most maps, 1867-1970.
Also available on microfilm. Consult Melinda McIntosh for assistance. (545-6802)

UMass Library Genealogy Website
Contains information on and links to city directories, land records, tax records, and photographic collections.

Built in America.
Library of Congress--Historic American Building Survey.

America's Historical Newspapers
This resource can be accessed through the Boston Public Library's Electronic Resources Page.  You must obtain a BPL library card online here. "
Anyone individual who lives, works, attends school, or owns property in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and is at least 13 years of age may register for an eCard."

American Memory. Cities and Towns. Digitized maps from the Library of Congress.

Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public."

 

Microfilm materials & reference books

Historical American Buidlings Survey (Masschusetts)   UM Microfiche Storage 283

Historical American Buidlings Survey (Connecticut)   UM Microfiche Storage 240

Historical American Buidlings Survey (Maine)   UM Microfiche Storage 241

Historical American Buidlings Survey (New Hampshire   UM Microfiche Storage 238

Historical American Buidlings Survey (New York)   UM Microfiche Storage 239

Historical American Buidlings Survey (Rhode Island)   UM Microfiche Storage 242

Historical American Buidlings Survey (Vermont)   UM Microfiche Storage 243

Hisotric American Buildings Survey--Collection of Measured Drawings  UM Microfiche Storage 5022
Massachusetts is reel 25.

Pittsfield newspapers on film at UMass.

Massachusetts: A Bibliography of Its History.  REF F64.M37 1976. Contains references to many local history sources.

County Atlas of Berkshire, Massachusetts.  UM Special Collections   G1233.B4B4 1876 Oversize

Historic Buildings of Massachusetts: Photographs From the Historic Buildings Survey.  REF F65.H64 1976

Microforms information, including paging film through the Internet.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip