This is the "Getting Started/Databases" page of the "CompLit 141 Good and Evil Summer 2009" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CompLit 141 Good and Evil Summer 2009  

Finding library resources
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/goodevilsummer09 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started/Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Food & Culture

These page leads to library resources for research on food and culture. Below are the most relevant databases of scholarly journal articles, which are usually the best sources for research papers. The tabs above lead you to subject searches for circulating books, and to online and print encyclopedias on food and culture. To the left, you'll find basic library information and help with the writing process; to the right, my contact information.

Databases for scholarly journal articles

If full-text isn't provided, click the red UMLinks button in the citation to check for other options.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s - present.
  • JSTOR
    Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
  • Academic Search Premier
    A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
  • EHRAF World Cultures
    Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing traces social features across cultures, 1983-present.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
  • Web of Science
    Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

  • Anthopology Plus
    The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.
  • AnthroSource
    The full text of the 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth century.

  • Project Muse
    Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jim Kelly
Contact Info
Research and Liaison Services
Room 01
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 545-3981
(413) 577-1536 (fax)
Send Email
 
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip