This is the "Home" page of the "Folklore " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Folklore  

Last Updated: Jul 13, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/folklore Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

OTHER RESOURCES

  • UMass Interlibrary Loan
    Borrow books held outside the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
  • RefWorks
    A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.

Online exhibitions, journals, digital repositories & archives

Pioneer Valley Folklore Society
This local society lists nearby events including a Song & Story Swap held on the first Saturday of each month.

American Folklore Society
Publishers of Journal of American Folklore; this site features forums, guides and resources

Center for Southern Folklore
Online galleries, festival and archive information documenting the people and celebrations of the Southern United States

Folklore Forum
This freely accessible journal from Indiana University includes articles from scholars in many parts of the country

Keepers of Tradition 
Sponsored by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, this site is an online companion exhibit celebrating the history and folklife of Massachusetts

Utah State University (digital repository)
Digital collections of Utah State University Library [for collection items, click here.]

 

      

    Folklore

    The W.E.B. Du Bois Library has created this guide to direct library patrons to accurate and reliable sources for information about Folklore

    Use the tabs above to find Articles, Web Resources, and Books..

    If you need help finding books, articles, or other sources, the library staff can help!  Or click here for help finding items in the UMass Amherst Libraries Collections.

    Image available via Creative Commons

        

      Databases

      • Academic Search Premier
        A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
      • Anthropology Plus
        The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.
      • Anthrosource
        An online service of American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline. Discover scientific research information in the field of anthropology at your fingertips.
      • Artstor
        More than one million digital images of works of fine art, architecture and design
      • ERIC
        Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present.
      • Gale Virtual Reference Library
        A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.
      • MLA International Bibliography
        An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -
      • Oxford Reference Online
        Entries from over 100 Oxford University Press subject and language dictionaries, guides, and concise companions.

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Jim Kelly
      Contact Info
      Research and Liaison Services
      Room 01
      W.E.B. Du Bois Library
      (413) 545-3981
      (413) 577-1536 (fax)
      Send Email

      Revision History

      This guide was created by Jocelyn Charpentier, Drew Griffin, Kirsten Wilder Andrews, Rachael Victoria Theriault, Caitlin Kelley, Jackie Penny, et al. (Summer 2011)

      The guide was revised Fall 2012 by Melissa Graham and Spring 2015 by Nicole Meaney.

          
        © 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip