Find information on topics related to this semester's reading, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2009
Over 300 research databases are available through the UMass Amherst Libraries. Here are a few that will be especially useful for researching topics related to this semester's reading, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
- Five Colleges Libraries Catalog
Search the collections of UMass and the Four Colleges: books, journals, DVDs, dissertations, and more.
- Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.
- Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.
- Literature Resource Center
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
- MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -
- Philosopher's Index
Citations and abstracts for philosophy journal articles and books published in Western languages, 1940-present.
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations, 1800’s-present.
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles (including psychology), with links to UMass-subscribed full text.
- Google Scholar
Easy to search like Google, but returns only scholarly articles, books, dissertations. Look for "Get Full Text Via UMLinks" links next to some article titles.
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Reference & Research Assistance Desk hours, Fall 2016: Mondays 11:30-1, Tuesdays 5-7, and Wednesdays 9-10. In New Africa House: Wednesdays 1-2:30, room 323. Also available by appointment.