Find information on topics related to this semester's reading, Monique and the Mango Rains by Kris Holloway.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2009
Over 300 research databases are available through the UMass Amherst Libraries. Here are a few that will be especially useful for researching topics related to this semester's reading, Monique and the Mango Rains.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
Search the contents of over 41,000 scholarly books. Jump right to the portions that deal with your topic, or read through the books right on your screen.
- Five Colleges Libraries Catalog
Search the collections of UMass and the Four Colleges: books, journals, DVDs, dissertations, and more.
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles (including midwifery and public health), with links to UMass-subscribed full text.
Find articles, books and more in the fields of nursing and allied health--including midwifery.
Reports and articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Citations to journal articles in the social sciences, 1983-present.
- CAB Abstracts
Source for journal articles and other material on land use: agriculture, forestry, biotechnology, agricultural economics, tourism, nutrition, etc., 1910-present.
News stories from a full range of local newspapers from all over the African continent, 1997-present.
- Google Scholar
Easy to search like Google, but returns only scholarly articles, books, dissertations. Look for "Get Full Text Via UMLinks" links next to some article titles.
- Full list of library databases
Browse the Libraries' 300+ research databases by subject or alphabetically.
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Reference & Research Assistance Desk hours, Fall 2016: Mondays 11:30-1, Tuesdays 5-7, and Wednesdays 9-10. In New Africa House: Wednesdays 1-2:30, room 323. Also available by appointment.