Find information on topics related to this semester's reading, Ten Little Indians by Sherman Alexie.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2009
This is a library and online research guide for the
Fall 2009 Commonwealth Honors Seminar, Honors 291G. Here are resources
and research tips that will be especially useful for researching topics
related to this semester's reading, Ten Little Indians by Sherman Alexie.
I invite students and instructors to use the comments feature on this site in order to share your own research tips and opinions with others in the Commonwealth Honors Seminar.
Try out these databases, comment on them and rate them too! Over 300 research databases are available through the UMass Amherst Libraries. Here are a few that will be especially useful.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history.
- Anthropology Plus
The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.
Search the contents of over 41,000 scholarly books. Jump right to the portions that deal with your topic, or read through the books right on your screen.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States.
- Five Colleges Libraries Catalog
Search the collections of UMass and the Four Colleges: books, journals, DVDs, dissertations, and more.
- Google Scholar
Easy to search like Google, but returns only scholarly articles, books, dissertations. Look for "Get Full Text Via UMLinks" links next to some article titles.
- MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and film.
- Sociological Abstracts
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines.
- Full list of library databases
Browse the Libraries' 300+ research databases by subject or alphabetically.
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries, including UMass.
Isabel Espinal - One of many Reference Librarians who can help you
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Reference librarians are available to assist you with your questions. Contact us!