Libraries Ask Us

Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

General guide for library research in Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

Research Help for Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

This guide highlights library resources that support research and teaching in the Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies Department. For help with research strategies, general library questions, and resource selection, please contact Isabel Espinal, Librarian for WGSS Department.

Journals

Decorative cover image:A color photo on a grey background of three individuals wearing masks. One individual has pink hair, and pink and green outfit. The two individuals behind them have full face masks and military type weapon in hand

Meridians: feminism, race, transnationalism

Decorative cover image:multiple yellow drawings of people with blue hair, outlined in red, on a red background

Spotlight on: Gender Studies e-books from Duke University Press

Duke University Press Gender Studies E-Book Collection

Almost 600 ebooks. Includes essential titles and field-defining scholarship in queer theory, gay and lesbian studies, transgender studies, feminist theory, and women's studies.

Getting Started: Need a few Articles?

To find articles for your Women, Gender Sexuality Studies research projects, start with the following research databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History & Culture since 1940 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals; publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. Also contains personal correspondence and interviews with LGBTQ individuals; gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health; materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy, 1923-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

You can access Google Scholar with UMLinks buttons from outside the UMass Amherst IP range ("off campus") by two methods:

1. Access Google Scholar through the Library web site by using this link.
2. Go to generic Google Scholar.
a. Click on "Settings."
b. Click on Library links.
c. Type in "University of Massachusetts" or "UMass Amherst" (or a few other variations).
d. Check "University of Massachusetts Amherst - UMass Check for Full Text" and Save.
e. You will be asked to authenticate somewhere along the way to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References, and some full text, of articles in about 120 LGBT-specific core periodicals, as well as selective articles from 1,600 more periodicals, 1950-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Find Books

Discovery Search
Books, e-books, DVDs, journal articles, and more.

Search the Five College Catalog to find the books you can borrow.

Select UM Du Bois Library in the Location field to find what's available at just UMass Amherst.
If you see a book that's at another college, click on Request Item to have it delivered to UMass Amherst for you to pick up.

Five College Catalog (Advanced Search)
The combined library catalogs of UMass Amherst, Amherst, Hampshire, Mt. Holyoke and Smith.

Can't find what you're looking for in the Five College Catalog? Try WorldCat and/or Interlibrary Loan!

UMass Interlibrary Loan
Current and retired UMass Amherst faculty and staff, and current students may use Interlibrary Loan services to obtain a loan of books and other materials from a library beyond the Five Colleges or to obtain copies of articles and other materials from any library at no charge.

Use your NetID to login to an existing account or to register for Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services.
WorldCat
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
more...less...
Content is freely available for use by all.

Commonwealth Catalog
Discover and request popular books, audio books, movies and more - from a wide array of Massachusetts public and smaller academic libraries.

Organize your research

Use a citation manager, such as Zotero to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in one place, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase for the rest of your career. For help, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

Some tips on using Chicago notation style with Zotero.

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian
Research help from W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Report a database or ejournal problem?
Email to: dbhelp@umass.libanswers.com