Massachusetts CemeteriesNew England CemeteriesOther Areas Cemeteries
1700-1860/18611700-1860/1861 New England City Directories1861 - present City Directories
1771-1861 Tax RecordsMiscellaneous Tax Records
Massachusetts Vital RecordsNew England Vital RecordsOther Areas Vital RecordsSystematic Series 1850 - Massachusetts
Massachusetts MarriagesNew England MarriagesOther Areas Marriages
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Genealogy 

A guide to selected genealogical resources at the W.E.B. Du Bois Library.
Last update: Jun 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/genealogy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Cookbooks             Print Page
  
 

Library Resources

Beatrice A. McIntosh Cookery Collection

The Special Collections and University Archives Department of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library houses a collection of more than 1000 community cookbooks as well as books, pamphlets, and ephemera relating to the history of cookery in New England. Although most of these cookbooks come from the Western Massachusetts counties of Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden, and Hampshire, the collection includes items from Central and Eastern Massachusetts as well as a small number of cookbooks from other states - chiefly Connecticut, New York, and Vermont. Choice Recipes (Ladies of Baldwinville, 1886) and Tried and True (Ladies of the Turners Falls Unitarian Society, 1888) are among the oldest cookbooks in the collection.

Usually volunteers from churches, women's clubs, social service organizations, and schools compiled these frequently spiral-bound archives of local history. Since nearly all of these cookbooks contain the recipe contributors' names they essentially provide an organization's membership roster.

The charity cookbooks or "charities" offer insight into the daily lives of women and families of a particular era. They also afford an examination of the communities' ethnicity, social networks, and food trends. Some volumes include advertisements for local businesses, helpful hints, and recipes for regional specialties. The Regional Community Cookbooks Collection contains contributions from Canadian, French, Jewish, Latin American, Polish, Russian, and other ethnic groups and nationalities.

The W.E.B. Du Bois Library Catalog does not currently list these cookbooks individually.


Special Collections and University Archives Hours

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait