DataDictionariesEncyclopediasHandbooks and ManualsMaps and Atlases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Earth Systems  Tags: ocean oceanography marine marine_technology climate remote_sensing sea_level_rise  

Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/earthsys  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Online Encyclopedias

USGS Topical Guide
Though this is not an encyclopedia in the conventional sense, it's a quick way to find information on the large and sometimes confusing USGS website.

Guide to the Oceans
The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. Includes atlas section and Encyclopedia of Marine Life

 

 

Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of evolution, by Stanley A. Rice
Facts On File, c2007
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Re QH 360.2 .R53 2007

Encyclopedia of Geology, R.C. Selley et al., eds.
Elsevier, 2005.
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QE 5 .E516 2005 v. 1 - 5.
Lavishly illustrated, with signed articles.

Encyclopedia of Quaternary science
Elsevier, 2007.
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref
QE741 .E53 2007 v.1 - 4
Very thorough treatment, with signed articles. Illustrated with photgraphs, maps, line drawings and graphs. 

Encyclopedia of sediments and sedimentary rocks, Gerard V. Middleton, ed.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, c2003.
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref
QE471.2 .E53 2003 +
Three major sections: Geochemistry, mineralogy, petrology; Sedimntary environments and facies; Sedimentary processes. Signed articles.

 

Contact me

Profile ImageMaxine Schmidt
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6739
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, geology, geography, resource economics, environmental sciences

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait