DataDictionariesEncyclopediasMaps and Atlases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Geography 

Print and online resources at UMass and beyond
Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/geography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Resources

RefWorks Login

 


Subject Specialists!

Basic Search Tips

Geosciences Department Page

Getting the article

UMLinks

When searching for articles, look for the UMLinks button. It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the libraries. Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.

 

Online Resources in Geography

Online Journal Databases

IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.

Online Geographical Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature in the field of geography, 1984 -present.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Works poorly with Safari.
Provides indexing and citation tracking for journals in all the social sciences, 1956-present.

EconLit
Citations and abstracts for journal articles and some books relating to the field of economics, 1969-present.

America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.

Environment Index
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950’s- present.

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

PAIS International
References to public policy literature: articles, scholarly and government literature, and research reports, in European languages, 1915-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Citations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present.

Contemporary Women's Issues: CWI
Full-text articles from periodicals relating to women and women's issues, 1992-present.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Journal articles, books, and dissertations on criminology, justice system, police, corrections, crime prevention, and victim's rights, 1968 to present.

Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.

      
     

    Contact me

    Profile ImageMaxine Schmidt
    Contact Info:
    Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library
    University of Massachusetts Amherst
    Amherst, MA 01003
    413-545-6739
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    biology, geology, geography, resource economics, environmental sciences

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait