1. Plant Genome Resources2. NCBI Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Plant Biology  Tags: biology plants  

Library Resources supporting the Plant Biology Graduate Program at UMass
Last update: Apr 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/plantbio  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biology Databases             Print Page
  

From the National Center for Biotechnology Information

From the NCBI website: "Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information..." You can find instructions for using these closely linked databases here. 

Entrez Nucleotide
A collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB.

Protein sequences
Compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq.

Genome database
Provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. 

Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB)
Contains over 40,000 3D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. It's linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors.

      

    Other Databases and Tools

    UCSC Genome Browser at the University of California Santa Cruz

    Nucleic Acid Database at Rutgers University 

        
       

      Contact me

      Profile ImageMaxine Schmidt
      Contact Info:
      Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library
      University of Massachusetts Amherst
      Amherst, MA 01003
      413-545-6739
      Send Email

      Subjects:
      biology, geology, geography, resource economics, environmental sciences

       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait