1. Plant Genome Resources2. NCBI Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Plant Biology  Tags: biology plants  

Library Resources supporting the Plant Biology Graduate Program at UMass
Last update: Apr 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/plantbio  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources             Print Page
  
 

Online Reference Sources

Beilstein
A compendium of organic chemistry data on over 7 million compounds, including structures, physical properties, reactions, and literature citations, 1800-present.

NOTE: Beilstein will only work on a computer with a UMass Amherst IP address. A dial-up account from OIT will provide users with a UMass Amherst IP address. Searching requires installation of CrossFire Commander client software. This software can be downloaded from http://minerva.library.wisc.edu

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging. Current.

Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and NYT for current news.

Credo Reference
Many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries from Columbia, Collins, Macmillan, Routledge and Houghton Mifflin, current and historical.

 

Print Reference Sources

A Dictionary of Biology
Oxford University Press, 2004
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .D54 2004
Short definitions with some line drawings.

Collins Web-linked dictionary of biology, by W.G. Hale, V.A. Saunders & J.P. Margham.
HarperCollins, 2006, c2005.
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .H34 200
Emphasis on cellular and evolutionary biology. Contains an appendix with links to biology history, careers, etc.

Encyclopedia of evolution, by Stanley A. Rice
Facts On File, c2007
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH360.2 .R53 2007

Encyclopedia of life sciences
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .E525 2002
Twenty-volume set from the Nature Publishing Group.

Encyclopedia of molecular biology, edited by Thomas E. Creighton
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH506 .E53 1999+

 

Contact me

Profile ImageMaxine Schmidt
Contact Info:
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6739
Send Email

Subjects:
biology, geology, geography, resource economics, environmental sciences

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait