Finding Books
For books at
UMass, use the Five Colleges
Library Catalog and click on the UMass link. Be as specific as possible in
your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no
results). Search for books, journals, and other materials by author,
title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials
on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject
or Keyword search
boxes. The Library of Congress Subject Headings (Z695.L695+), located
near the W.E.B. Du Bois Library Reference Desk, suggests search terms
(subject headings). See below for some examples of relevant subject headings in Native
American Indian Studies.
The standard subject heading for the whole of native communities in North America is: Indians of North America. Related headings include Indians of Central America and Indians of South America. These broad terms return over 5000 entries, which can be browsed for more specific subheadings.
For works on specific communities, most headings follow the format "[community/nation] Indians". Examples:
There are many other possible subject searches. For example:
- Cherokee Language
- Indian Activists
- Indian Dance
- Indians of North America -- Music
- Indians of North America -- New England
- Indians of North America -- Politics and Government
- Indians of North America -- Religion
- Indians of North America -- Social Conditions
- Iroquois Indians -- Government Relations
- Powwows
If UMass doesn't have the book(s) you need, try the other Four Colleges.
TIP: Use WorldCat and Other Library Catalogs when UMass and Five College system are not sufficient. Use the same Library of Congress subject headings above.
TIP: When you look for a particular book on the shelf, make sure to browse the nearby shelves for related books. Take your time! Open the books!

Reference Books
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Massachusetts Indians: Tribes, Nations, and People of the Plains Eastern Woodlands E78.M4 E63 1999
- Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes Ref. E76.2 .W35 1999
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians Ref E76.2 .E53 1997
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians (online)
- Handbook of North American Indians Ref E77 .H36. Library has volumes 2-15 and 17
- Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples Ref E77 .P89 1998
Where are the books?
Call Number Locations
The Library Catalog provides a call number and location for each item. The call number consists of an alphanumeric string based on the Library of Congress classification system. (Learn how to read a call number.) Information on Native American Indian Studies are found primarily in the E 75-E 99 call number area. Other call number areas are listed below. Specific topics and locations follow.
Main Floor (one floor below the Entrance level)
Reference Collection, as well as access to databases
Floor 14
E 75-99 Indians of North America, with significant subsections as follows:E 93 Government relationsF1435 Central America, Mayas
E 97 Education
E 99 Individual nations (in alphabetical order). Examples:
- E99.A83 Assateague
- E99.C5 Cherokee
- E99.I7 Iroquois
- E99.M4 Mashpee
- E99.M433 Mayas
- E99.S54 Siksika
- E99.W2 Wampanoag
F1465 Central America, Guatemala, Mayas
F2230 South America, Modern Indians
F3429 South America, Peru, Inca
Floor 5
KF 8201-8228 Law of the United States and Indians
Floor 18
ML 3557 American Indian Music
Floor 12
PM 101-2711 North American Indian Languages
PM 3001-4566 Languages of Mexico and Central America
PM5001-7356 Languages of South America and the West Indies
Floor 21
Z 1209-1210 Bibliography on American Indians
eBooks are here!
Search our growing ebook collections for topics in Native American Indian Studies.
ebrary
Scholarly and popular books online in full text, from 1990 to present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.
What floor?
Reading Call Numbers
The Library Catalog provides a call number and location for each item. The call number consists of an alphanumeric string based on the Library of Congress classification system. Learn how to read a call number.
Note: If the Call Number of a book says "UM Reference," you will find it in the Learning Commons, lower level of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Otherwise, for BOOKS and PERIODICALS in the UM W.E.B. Du Bois Library, use the chart below.
Call Number begins with: Floor:
|
A |
8 |
|
B |
20 |
|
C |
15 |
|
D-DR |
15 |
|
DS-DZ |
14 |
|
E |
14 |
|
F |
14 |
|
G |
18 |
|
H-HD
7999 |
18 |
|
HD
8000-HZ |
17 |
|
J |
8 |
|
K |
5 |
|
L |
20 |
|
M
|
21 |
|
N
|
9 |
|
P-PQ
5999 |
12 |
|
PQ
6000-PZ |
11 |
|
Q |
23 |
|
R-RC |
23 |
|
RD-RZ |
24 |
|
S |
24 |
|
T
(except for TR) |
24 |
|
TR
|
9 |
|
U |
24 |
|
V |
24 |
|
Z |
21 |
Description
Loading content... please wait


| 




Loading content... please wait