Native American & Indigenous Studies

(journal indexing and online journals)

• Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary database with many anthropology journals. Citations, abstracts and full-text articles. Citations can be saved to a folder and exported directly to RefWorks.
• America: History and Life - Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations and book reviews published in over 2000 journals covering United States and Canadian history (including especially historical archeology). Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
• Anthropology Plus - Indexes articles, books, and more. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
• Bibliography of Native North Americans - Citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life from pre-history to the present, with some coverage back to the sixteenth century. Citations can be saved to a folder and exported directly to RefWorks.
• Black Studies Center combines several resources for research in Black Studies.
• eHRAF Collection of Archaeology (full text) is "a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory."
• ERIC - Articles and reports dealing with issues in education. Citations can be saved to a folder and exported directly to RefWorks.
• Ethnic Newswatch - Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of Native American Indian and other ethnic communities in the United States. Publications include: News From Indian Country, Akwesasne Notes, Indian Country Today, Pequot Times, and The Seminole Tribune, among many more.
• Google Scholar - The same Google interface most people are familiar with -- but it searches only scholarly, academic information, rather than the whole Web. From the library website, Google Scholar is connected to our online journals and our Interlibrary Loan service, so you will not need to pay for articles as you might outside the library website.
• JSTOR (full text) - Scholarly journals. Citations can be exported to RefWorks.
• National Archeological Database
  "Bibliographic inventory of approximately 240,000 reports on archeological planning and investigation... This 'gray literature' represents a large portion of the primary information available on archeological sites in the U.S." Also includes a variety of maps.
• Project MUSE (full text) - Scholarly journals. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
• Sociological Abstracts - Scholarly article citations in sociology with some full text links. Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks.
• Web of Science - Allows multidisciplinary searches combining arts, humanities, social science and science. Citations can be saved in a text file and imported to RefWorks using a filter.

Reference Sources

• Encyclopedia of Massachusetts Indians: Tribes, Nations, and People of the Plains Eastern Woodlands E78.M4 E63 1999
• Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes Ref. E76.2 .W35 1999
• Encyclopedia of North American Indians Ref E76.2 .E53 1997
• Encyclopedia of North American Indians (online)
• Handbook of North American Indians Ref E77 .H36. Library has volumes 2-15 and 17
• Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples Ref E77 .P89 1998

Books

• Search the UMass Library Catalog or the Five Colleges Libraries Catalog. Use the broad categories below to browse for sub-topics or to limit (by date, words in subject or words in title) for more focussed results.
  Sample subject searches:
  • African Americans -- Relations with Indians
  • Indians
    • Indians -- First contact with Europeans
    • Indians, Treatment of
  • Indians of North America -- African influences
  • Indians of North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
  • Indigenous Peoples
    • Indigenous Peoples -- Civil rights
    • Indigenous peoples -- Legal status, laws, etc.
  • United States -- Social conditions -- To 1865
• Net Library - online book collection
• WorldCat - a world-wide catalog; use for books not at the Five Colleges

Do you "like" the Libraries?

Do you want to stay updated with the ever-changing information resources and research strategies from the UMass Amherst Libraries?

Click here, then click  and easilly incorporate the Libraries into your Facebook routine!

Journals (for browsing)

• Akwesasne Notes (Alternate title: Longhouse News). Per E75 .A392 [1995-1996]; Microfilm A 431 [1969-1996]; and A 265 [Underground Newspaper Collection Series. For Holdings and Reel Nos. see Ref. Z6514 .U5U49] Also online
• American Antiquity Per E51 .A52 and online
• American Indian Culture and Research Journal Per E75 .A5124
• American Indian Law Review Per K1 .M437 and online
• American Indian Quarterly Per E76 .A547 and online
• American Journal of Archaeology (1897-1997) and current issues (2000-)
• Archaeology of Eastern North America E77.8 .A7
• Bulletin of the Massachusetts Archaeological Society Per F66 .M368
• CRM [Cultural Resources Management] online only
• Cultural Survival Quarterly Per GN357 .N48 Also online
• Ethnohistory online only
• Journal of Anthropological Archaeology Per CC79.E85 J68 (1982-2001) and online
• North American Archaeologist Per E43 .N67
• Northeast Anthropology Per GN1 .M33
• Southeastern Archaeology online only