Afro Am 133: Afro-American History, Civil War to 1954Afro Am 170/171: The Multicultural Experience in American Life and CultureAfro Am 188: Introduction to African American LiteratureAfro Am 290c/753: The BluesAfro Am 331: The Life and Writings of W.E.B. Du BoisAfro Am 365: Composition: Style and Organization (Junior Year Writing)Afro Am 491C: Cuba: A Social History Afro Am 605/History 797S: African Americans and the Movement to Abolish SlaveryAfro Am 652/234: Literature of the Harlem RenaissanceAfro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American StudiesAfro Am 692G: African American Women's NarrativeEnglish 891BB: African American Women Playwrights
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Afro American Studies  Tags: afro_american african_american black_studies  

A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/afroam  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Afro Am 331: The Life and Writings of W.E.B. Du Bois             Print Page
  
 
 

Resources

Reference Sources

Reference materials are a great way to start your research. Most of these sources are located in the Reference Department's collection on the Main floor of the Du Bois Library (one flight down from the entry level).

  • Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience Ref DT14 .A37435 1999
  • Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940 Ref PN451 .D5 v. 51
  • Black American Writers: Bibliographical Essays Ref PS153 .N5 B55
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History Ref E185 .E542 2001
  • Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance Ref NX512.3.A35 E53 2004 Table of Contents is online.
  • The Harlem Renaissance: an Annotated Reference Guide for Student Research Ref Z5956.A47 R64 1998
  • W.E.B. Du Bois: An Encyclopedia Ref E185.97.D73 W164 2001
  • Who's Who in African-American History Ref E185.96 .W46 1994
  • See also Afro American Studies Reference Materials and English Reference Materials for even more reference sources.

Finding Books

Audio/Visual

Videos

Journals (for browsing)

Databases (journal indexing and online journals for searching)

Tips for Databases:

  1. From off-campus locations, an OIT Computer Account is required to access licensed databases. Databases that anyone may search are identified with an *
  2. Use the Database Searching Log to keep track of your searches and search strategies.
  3. Use RefWorks to manage your citations and create your bibliography.
  4. After you've run a search, use the button (if the database has it) to retrieve articles.

Internet Resources

Reserves

Click here for Reserve Books and Paper Copies of Articles and eReserve articles for Afro American Studies 331 (when available).

Evaluation

Please take a few minutes to fill out this anonymous evaluation form. You can help improve the quality of instruction by letting us know what you liked, what might be improved and what you would like to see in the future.

 

---------------------------------------------------------

Prepared for Afro American Studies 331, Spring 2007 Professor Bill Strickland.
Library guide by Isabel Espinal, Afro American Studies Librarian

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait