Web Sites
- Samuel May Anti-Slavery Collection
- Antislavery in New England
- Black Abolitionist Archives, University of Detroit Mercy
- American Abolitionism
- Beneath the Underground Railroad: The Flight to Freedom and Communities in Antebellum Maryland
- Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Journals

- African American Review Per PS173.N4N36 and online
- Afro-Americans in New York Life and History Per F128.9.N4A36 and online
- American Historical Review
E171 .A57 and online
- Callaloo Per PS173.N4C3 and online
- Civil War History
Per E461 .C5 and online
- Journal of African American History Per E185.J86 and online
- Journal of American History
E 171 J861 and online
- Journal of Black Studies Per E185.5.J8 and online
- Journal of Negro History Per E185.J86 and online
- Journal of the Early Republic Per
E164 .J68 and online
- Slavery and Abolition: a Journal of Slave and Post-Slave Studies Per HT851.S58 and online
- Souls: a Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture, and Society Per E185.5.S68
- Studies in the World History of Slavery, Abolition, and Emancipation (Online at http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/~slavery/)
See also a list of journals in Afro American Studies.
Books - Selected Course Readings
Course Readings
are listed in this RefShare folder. The list can be downloaded to any RefWorks account or into an Endnote file!
More Books
Reference Materials
Some sample reference books for this course (located on the Main floor of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library):
- The African-American Almanac Ref E185.5 .N34
- The African-American Archive: The History of the Black Experience in Documents Ref E184.6 .A33 2001
- The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture Ref Z1361.N39 L47 1993
- African American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Ref E 185.96 .A45 1993
- The Atlas of African-American History and Politics: From the Slave Trade to Modern Times Re. E185 .S574 1998
- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition Ref E449 .B625 1981
- Black Chronology: From 4000 B.C. to the Abolition of the Slave Trade Ref DT17 .D5 1983
- Black Slavery in the Americas: An Interdisciplinary Bibliography, 1865-1980 Ref Z7164.S6 S63 1982
- Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery Ref E441 .D53 1988
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History Ref E185 .E54 2001
- Encyclopedia of North American History Ref E45 .E49 1999
- Guide and Index to the Papers of Charles Sumner Z6616.S78 P34 1988 (in Reserves, 3rd floor)
- Index to the American Slave Ref E444 .A45 Suppl. 3
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets: An Index to the Microfilm Collection Ref Z7164.S6 H42
- Who's Who in African-American History Ref E185.96 .W46 1994
Searching for Books
Search for books in the Library Catalog.
Subject Headings in the Catalog (Click on each link for lists of subheadings and books.)
- Abolitionists
- Abolitionists -- United States
- African American Abolitionists
- African American Women Abolitionists
- African Americans -- Civil Rights -- History -- 18th century
- African Americans -- Civil Rights -- History -- 19th Century
- African Americans -- History -- To 1863
- African Americans -- Legal Status, Laws, Etc.
- African Americans -- Southern States -- History
- Antislavery Movements -- United States
- Free African Americans
- Freedmen
- Freedmen -- United States
- Fugitive Slaves
- Fugitive Slaves -- United States
- Slaves -- Southern States
- Underground Railroad
- Women Abolitionists
Other Sources of Books
- Net Library - online books
- WorldCat and Other Library Catalogs for searching other catalogs if you don't find books in the Four College Catalog. Try the same subject headings listed above.
- Borrow books from Interlibrary Loan.
Microforms
Black Abolitionist papers, 1830-1865 UM/Microform Storage 10429, 17 reels. For a guide to the papers see Ref E499.B625 1981.
Microfilm edition of slavery and antislavery pamphlets from the libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale UM Microform Storage 5460, 5 reels. Microfilm of pamphlet collection at Dartmouth College Library. For an index to the collection see Ref. Z 7164 S6H42
For your convenience, we recommend that you request microforms through the Electronic Request Form before coming to the microforms area to do your work. When filling out the electronic form please list a specific call number along with a specific reel number, if applicable.
Databases
Tip:
Use RefWorks Bibliography Manager to download and manage your citations and create bibliographies.
- Academic Search Premier (includes full-text journal articles) Citations, abstracts and full text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals.
- African American Biographical Database - Biographies of thousands of African Americans assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Useful for an understanding of the African American experience over the last two centuries.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century - Starting with the Freedom’s Journal in 1827 and continuing in chronological order with the monthly addition of new text, this database plans to ultimately contain the complete text of the major African American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Currently contains the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Coloured American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. This material was written by African Americans for African Americans.
- America: History and Life - Scholarly article citations in history with some full-text links.
- Black Thought and Culture - Includes the full text of a few materials on the African Americans in the American Revolution, the Haitian Independence Movement, the ending of the International slave trade, the Fugitive Slave Act, Bleeding Kansas, the Harpers Ferry Raid, and the Civil War.
- Ethnic Newswatch - Full-text articles from the contemporary newspapers, magazines and some scholarly journals of ethnic communities in the United States.
- Expanded Academic Index (includes full-text journal articles) Tip: For scholarly articles, limit the search to refereed publications. Good for academic book reviews.
- JSTOR - Full-text scholarly journals.
- Web of Science - Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). The databases may be searched separately or together. Good for academic book reviews and for seeing who cited whom.
Description
Loading content... please wait


| 




Loading content... please wait