Afro Am 133: Afro-American History, Civil War to 1954Afro Am 170/171: The Multicultural Experience in American Life and CultureAfro Am 188: Introduction to African American LiteratureAfro Am 290c/753: The BluesAfro Am 331: The Life and Writings of W.E.B. Du BoisAfro Am 365: Composition: Style and Organization (Junior Year Writing)Afro Am 491C: Cuba: A Social History Afro Am 605/History 797S: African Americans and the Movement to Abolish SlaveryAfro Am 652/234: Literature of the Harlem RenaissanceAfro Am 691C: Historiographical Methods in Afro-American StudiesAfro Am 692G: African American Women's NarrativeEnglish 891BB: African American Women Playwrights
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Afro American Studies  Tags: afro_american african_american black_studies  

A general guide to library research in Afro American Studies.
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/afroam  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Database Searching / Research Log             Print Page
  
 

Database Searching/Research Log

 

Use this worksheet to keep track of your searches and search strategies.

 

Research Project/ Topic:



Database or Catalog searched:



Date searched:


From where (home? specific library?):




Keywords, subject headings used:













Most successful searches:











Were results exported into RefWorks?



 




 
 

Introducing RefWorks

Use RefWorks to keep track of each item in your research.

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

RefWorks

1. Set up your account by clicking on the RefWorks link on the library homepage. From the RefWorks info page, choose "RefWorks Login & New Account Set up." From the login page, choosse "New to RefWorks? - Sign up for an Individual Account." Note: You get to choose your own username and password - make them easy to remember!

2. Get your book citations into RefWorks

Books from the UMass Catalog

  1. Within RefWorks, go to the search menu on the left side top and choose "Online Catalog or database"
  2. In the next screen, under "Online Catalog or Database to Search" choose "University of Massachusetts Amherst." If you have a specific title or author, go to the advanced search at the bottom and run your search.
  3. Your results will appear in a separate window or tab. choose the title(s) you want to import to your RefWorks account and click on "Import."

Books from WorldCat

Using the library's WorldCat subscription:

  1. Conduct a search.
  2. Mark the record(s) you wish to export.
  3. Click the "Export" button.
  4. Click the Radio button next to "Export to: RefWorks."
  5. Log into RefWorks.

When export from the library's WorldCat subscription is not Working, use Open WorldCat to export to RefWorks:

  1. Go to www.worldcat.org
  2. Conduct a search.
  3. Click “Export to RefWorks” in the “Subjects” line at the bottom of the gray box.
  4. Log into RefWorks.

3. Get your journal article citations into RefWorks
Most databases have a way to export citations into RefWorks directly. If you can't find the export link after you run a search, see instructions for the specific databases.

If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the FAQs.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait