Molecular and Cellular Biology
Resources
Getting the article
When searching for articles, look for the UMLinks button to find the full text of your article online, if it's available through the libraries. It will also search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Online Resources in Biology
Online Journal Databases
IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.
Biological Abstracts
Comprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.
Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.
BioOne
Bioscience research journals in full text, 1998-present.
SciFinder Scholar
Formerly know as Chemical Abstracts Service. The Library subscribes to a client version and a web version. Both can accommodate a very limited number of simultaeous users, so if you can't log on, try again later. You must register with CAS for the web version before you can use it. The client version may only be used from UMass Library computers.
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present. Public access version
BioMed Central
Free (open source) access to federally funded peer-reviewed biomedical research in over 100 recent journals.
Zoological Record
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Articles from serial publications, books, reports, and conference proceedings published in the field of aquatic science, 1965-present.
CAB Abstracts
Source for journal articles and other material on land use: agriculture, forestry, biotechnology, agricultural economics, tourism, nutrition, etc., 1910-present.
Biological and Agricultural Index
Articles in about 300 scholarly journals on agriculture, food production, nutrition, forestry, marine biology and plant pathology, 1984-present.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.
