HISTORY 450 China and US (JYW)
taught by Stephen Platt
Link to UMass subscriptions
We have over 60 database subscriptions to historical newspapers. Take a look at the list if you are particularly interested in doing research on topics in the United States or from a U.S. perspective. https://guides.library.umass.edu/az.php?t=25375
Subject Guide
Sharon Domier
Contact:
room 2249 (22nd floor)
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA
01275
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA
01275
413-577-2633
Website
Online Newspaper Archives
- Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
English-language newspapers published in China. Coverage spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post
- Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago. - Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.
Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of historic Afro-American and ethnic and alternative newspapers, and historical Boston Globe, New York Times, and Washington Post. - People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chinese newspaper of record, 1946-present. - Shen Bao Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, 1872-1949. Established in 1872, Shen Bao (申報, historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published until 1949, Shen Bao was uniquely a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.
- Chronicling AmericaNewspaper (and more) archive from the Library of Congress. You can browse by state, year, and keyword search as well.
- Newspaper SG (Singapore)NewspaperSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. You can search our digital archive of newspapers published between 1831-2009, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.
Local News
- The Massachusetts Daily Collegian (UMass news)digitized version of the microfilm. A little messy to use, but searchable.
- Springfield Republican archivesyou can search for free. Institutional access to the articles through either Smith College or Amherst College.
At Other Colleges
At Amherst College -- you must go there and physically be on their campus to use this resource:
FBIS: Federal Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996)
News in translation (by the CIA) from radio, television, and newspapers around the world.
This is a particularly useful option to find out what was being reported in Chinese newspapers at the time.
