Frida & Diego: Art & Love in Revolutionary Mexico
What is a "general" article?
A "general" article differs from a scholarly one in a number of ways. It could be written by a journalist, rather than a scholar, and published in a newspaper or magazine. Most journalism articles are not subjected to "peer review". (See the PowerPoint for a detailed explanation.)
Articles from trade and professional journals, general-circulation magazines, newspapers, or, today, from blogs or other web sources, are not considered scholarly sources.
This does not mean you can't use them in your essays; it merely means that you, as a researcher, have to distinguish between the scholarly and the non-scholarly article.
Scholarly article databases
Historical
Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal
articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present,
1954-present.
America: History & Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles,
dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history
and prehistory, 1954-present.
Academic Search Premier
A
good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly
disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
JSTOR
Core
scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the
earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Articles
from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the
Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-present.
Handbook
of Latin American Studies
Citations to works
published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of
the Library of Congress, 1936-present. Public
access version.
Biography
and Genealogy Master Index
A tool for locating
biographical index, it provides references to names in hundreds of biographical
dictionaries dating from the mid-20th century to present.
Biography
Resource Center
Brief biographies from Who's
Who and other sources. Current.
Art Abstracts
An
index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related
magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.
Art Index Retrospective
An
index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related
magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles,
books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and
dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history,
1973-present.
ArtBibliographies Modern
Journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.
"Current events" & general sources
For Latin America:
Latin American Weekly Report
News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current.
EIU Country Reports Online
Reports on current economic, political and market conditions in 200 countries. Includes 12-18 month macroeconomic forecasts.
