Frida & Diego: Art & Love in Revolutionary Mexico

Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, etc. They are intended to provide quick, reliable information, summaries of complex matters, and, very importantly, bibliographies--suggestions for futher reading.

These reference materials are invariably written by experts in their fields, so they are more trustworthy than Wikipedia--all have gone through a process of editorial review. For an illustrated explanation, see the home page presentation, "What is a referred or scholarly article?"

Online reference resources

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art)

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.

Europa World Yearbook
Excellent source on individual nations, with statistics, political summaries, and economic information.

EIU Country Reports
Economist Intelligence Unit economic and political analysis and statistics, worldwide.

Countries and their cultures
Information on food, rituals, pastimes, arts, etc. of 200 nations.

You will find dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks on Mexican history in the Reference Collection, main floor, from F1204 to F3738, in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. Some notable "general" resources in English are:

Encyclopedia of Mexico    F1210.E63 1997

Encyclopedia of Latin America. F1406.E52

Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture.   F1406 .E53 1996

South America, Central America, & the Caribbean.   F1406.5 S68