HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SCH-MGMT 499/689            Print Page
  
 

COURSE GUIDE - SCH-MGMT 499 & 689 - BUSINESS STRATEGY

The UMass library delivers the business collection over the internet to your desktop - including 40,000 periodical subscriptions, reports on companies, industries, and markets worldwide, company directories and data sets.

The best databases for company research are listed in four categories: 1. Company Reports; 2. Company News; 3. Industry Reports; 4. Leader Biography. For help with research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian.

FEATURED RESOURCES: The UMass Library delivers 1000s of full-text business journals, magazines and newspapers to your desktop, e.g., Harvard Business Review, 1922 - present; Wall Street Journal, 1889 - present. Find e-journals in the E-Journal Locator.

 

 

 

 

1. COMPANY REPORTS - ANALYSIS OF COMPANY POLICY & STRATEGY

Start company research with the brief factual reports in Hoover's; for a more comprehensive approach - LexisNexis; for financial analysis - Mergent Online; for stock performance - S&P Stock Reports; for a corporate perspective, review SEC Form 10-K.

Hoover's Company Profiles Brief reports - 14,000 companies - background, products, revenues, competitors.
Mergent Online Financial analysis - public companies worldwide. 15 yrs. of financials/ratios. SEC filings.
LexisNexis Company Dossier Select BUSINESS tab. Company reports, news, structure, finances, brands, competitors.
Morningstar Investment Center Mutual fund and stock analysis and data. Industry aggregates.
S&P Stock Reports Investment Analysis - current public company financial performance. Investment advice.
Directory of Company Histories Part of BCRC database. Select Advanced Search, then "Histories" from the drop-down.
Corporate Affiliations Company directory. Identify corporate family tree - parent, subsidiaries, divisions, branches.
 

2. COMPANY NEWS - FROM BUSINESS JOURNALS, MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS

News articles from trade journals and business magazines bring your research up-to-date. Start with the giant business journal database called ABI/Inform Global. For daily newspaper articles, use LexisNexis Academic.

ABI/Inform Global Scholarly and trade journals, business magazines. Quality index & search interface, 1971-.
Business Source Premier Scholarly and trade journals, business magazines. 8,000 titles indexed, 1965-.
LexisNexis Academic Daily newspapers and trade journals. Select BUSINESS in the top banner.
 

3. INDUSTRY REPORTS - CORPORATE STRATEGY IN A BROADER ECONOMIC CONTEXT

Industry reports identify the broader economic and competitive forces that influence a company's business strategy. Start your industry research with IBISWorld Reports. The IBISWorld subscription provides a current industry report for every U.S. NAICS industry.

IBISWorld Reports
Reports for every NAICS industry, based on Porter's Five Forces analysis.
First Research Analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance.
S&P Industry Surveys Standard & Poor's industry analysis from an investment risk perspective.
Encyclopedia of American Industries In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
 

4. LEADER BIOGRAPHY - CEO, EXECUTIVE, AND BOARD MEMBERS

Use biographical profiles and interview transcripts to understand how leader personality influences a company's strategic direction. Get brief biographical profiles from Biography Resource Center. For transcripts of leader interviews, use LexisNexis news transcripts.

. .
ABI/Inform Global Locate biographical profiles in journals & magazines, this format: PER(warren buffett)
Biography Resource Center Biographical essays and articles on 300,000 notable figures worldwide. Fact Sheet
LexisNexis Business News Transcripts Interview transcripts, e.g., CNBC. Select NEWS tab, then TRANSCRIPTS from drop-down.
Encyclopedia of Leadership Essays on leadership theories and practice. Published by Sage Publications.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait