HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SCH-MGMT 797VL             Print Page
  
 

COURSE GUIDE - SCH-MGMT 797VL - VALUE INVESTING

Welcome online MBA students to the UMass Amherst Libraries. This guide organizes library databases into research categories: 1. Company Facts; 2. Stock Analysis; 3. Leader Biographies; 4. Annual Reports/SEC Filings; 5. SWOT Reports; 6. Investment News; 7. Investment E-Books.  For help with stock research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian, UMass Amherst.

Featured Database:
Link to Morningstar Database

Morningstar supports investment research for graduate investment courses and professional certification programs. Morningstar analyzes 24,000 mutual funds and all NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ stocks. Filter and sort stocks by 450 stock data points.

 

1. COMPANY FACTS - COMPANY HISTORY



Hoover's Company Profiles. Brief reports on more 13,500 public and private companies - quick facts, background, operations, products, revenues, competitors, executive names.


International Directory of Company Histories. Company histories for 4,500 companies. Access: Part of the Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Go to BCRC, click Advanced Search. Select "Histories" from the drop-down menu.
 

2. STOCK PERFORMANCE - STOCK ANALYSIS - STOCK SCREENERS

Morningstar Investment Research Center. Reports and stock screeners for all mutual funds and stocks.
Value Line Investment Survey. Stock reports and investment advice for 1,700 key stocks in 100 industries. .

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. Select the COMPANIES tab at top, then Stock Reports from the Publications drop-down menu.
 

3. LEADER BIOGRAPHIES - CEOs - DIRECTORS - EXECUTIVES



Biography Resource Center. Biographical essays, brief biographies, and news articles on more than 300,000 notable figures in science, history, business, government and popular culture. Fact Sheet


International Directory of Business Biographies. Biographical profiles of executives from the world's biggest and most influential companies, including those businesses on Fortune magazine's Fortune 500 and Global 500 lists.

LexisNexis Business News Transcripts. Transcripts of interviews with business leaders from network, cable and radio news shows, e.g., CNBC, NPR, CNN.

Encyclopedia of Leadership. Essays on leadership theories and practice, biographical essays, and case studies focused on leaders (and their followers). Published by Sage Publications.
 

4. ANNUAL REPORTS - SEC FILINGS - BALANCE SHEET FINANCIALS

Mergent Online. Financial reports on 11,000 U.S. companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies. View 15 years of company financials and ratios. Includes SEC filings from 1993 to present and annual reports from 1997 to present. Output in Excel, HTML, WORD, or PDF format.
 

5. SWOT REPORTS: COMPANY STRENGTHS - WEAKNESSES - OPPORTUNITIES - THREATS

DataMonitor SWOT Reports. Part of the Business Source Premier database - select SWOT Analyses in the right column. SWOT reports analyze major companies worldwide. Published by UK business publisher DataMonitor
 

6. JOURNAL, MAGAZINE, NEWSPAPER ARTICLES - COMPANY, STOCK AND EXECUTIVE NEWS

ABI/Inform Global. Scholarly/trade journals, business magazines. Indexes all investment periodicals, 1971-.
 Business Source Premier. Scholarly/trade journals, business magazines. 8,000 titles indexed, 1965-.
LexisNexis Academic. Daily newspapers, trade journals. Select BUSINESS in the top banner to search the Company Dossier.
 

7. INVESTMENT E-BOOKS

The UMass Library subscribes to 1000s of business books in e-format. Many are available through the library's Books 24x7 database. About Books 24x7 - BusinessPro - ITPro. Here are sample titles from Books 24x7:

Davis, S. M., Lukomnik, J., & Pitt-Watson, D. (2006). The new capitalists: How citizen investors are reshaping the corporate agenda. Boston, Mass: Harvard Business School Press.

Fulmer, R. M., & Bleak, J. L. (2008). The leadership advantage: How the best companies are developing their talent to pave the way for future success. New York: AMACOM/American Management Association.

Hafer, R. W., & Hein, S. (2007). The stock market. Greenwood guides to business and economics. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

Owen, D., & Griffiths, R. (2006). Mapping the markets: A guide to stockmarket analysis. New York: Bloomberg Press.

Smith, Tobin, & Clayman, Liz. (2008). Billion Dollar Green Profit from the Eco Revolution. New York: John Wiley & Sons.

Suntook, F., & Murphy, J. A. (2008). The stakeholder balance sheet: Profiting from really understanding your market. Chichester, England: Wiley.

Uldrich, J. (2008). Green investing: A guide to making money through environment-friendly stocks. Avon, Mass: Adams Media.

 

YOUR LIBRARIAN

J. Michael Davis
Contact Info:
jmdavis@library.umass.edu
413.545.6822
Send Email

 

FEATURED JOURNALS

Business Week

HRMagazine

Risk Management

Forbes Magazine

Financial Executive


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait