LIBRARY GUIDE for MKTG 437 - INTERNATIONAL MARKETING
This guide helps MKTG 437 students locate library resources for the Country Notebook research project. Most resources are available through library databases. Help: contact Mike Davis, jmdavis@library.umass.edu. Library resources are divided by publication type:
- Country reports - for cultural analysis (Country Notebook - Part I).
- Country reports - for economic analysis (Country Notebook - Part II).
- Market reports - for market analysis (Country notebook - Parts III and IV).
- Journal research - Articles for all aspects of product, market, and country analysis.
![]()
|
FEATURED RESOURCE |
GMID - the Global Market Information Database From UK
publisher Euromonitor - GMID provides four million internationally comparable country
statistics on consumers - their product preference, expenditure and
consumption. Annual data from 1997 -, forecast to 2013. |
![]()
1. COUNTRY REPORTS - CULTURAL ANALYSIS, BUSINESS ETIQUETTE (Country Notebook I - Cultural Analysis)
These library resources describe the social institutions and living conditions in all countries. Use Countries and their Cultures to study social characteristics. Use the Business Etiquette resources to compare and contrast business culture and etiquette.
2. COUNTRY REPORTS - ECONOMICS, POLITICS & GOVERNMENT (for Country Notebook II - Economic Analysis)
Country report databases support research for the Country Notebook Section One (II) - the economic analysis. EIU is the famous UK publisher of the Economist Magazine. Europa World Year Book has sections on key industries and media outlets.
3. MARKET ANALYSIS (for Country Notebook III & IV - Market Audit, Analysis, Plan)
| Global Market Information Database (GMID). Use GMID to locate product-level consumer expenditure/consumption data by country. Over 4 million data tables. Includes consumer lifestyle data. Annual data from 1997, forecast to 2013. |
|
| Datamonitor Market Research. Product-level market data and analysis by country. Part of the Business & Company Resource Center database (BCRC). Follow these instructions - go to BCRC. Click the Advanced Search icon, then select Industry Overviews from the drop-down menu. Search by country, limit by product keywords. | |
| Mintel Reports. Consumer market reports on U.S., European and global consumer markets - market drivers, size, trends, segments, supply structure, advertising, retail distribution, consumer profile, and market forecast. | |
| MarketResearch.com Academic. Market reports on consumer goods, food and beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, technology and media. Coverage: 1996 to present. | |
| ISI Emerging Markets. News, company and industry reports, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts for 85 emerging market countries in Asia, Latin America, and Central and Eastern Europe. | |
| Exporter's Encyclopedia. In DuBois Library reference collection, Call # HF3011.E9 2009. Provides documentation and the country contacts needed to export a product - including channels of distribution, shipping costs, payment methods. |
4. JOURNAL RESEARCH - Business journal, magazine & newspaper articles on markets and countries
|
Begin your journal research with the two largest business journal databases in the world - ABI/Inform
Global and Business
Source Premier. For daily newspaper articles, use LexisNexis
Academic. |
||
| ABI/Inform Global | Comprehensive coverage of business journals, plus dissertations, 1971 -. | |
| ABI/Inform Dateline | Hard-to-find local/regional business newspapers and magazines, 1980 -. | |
| ABI/Inform Trade and Industry | Trade journals and industry newsletters, 1980 -. | |
| Business Source Premier | The library's largest full-text collection of business journals/magazines, 1965 -. | |
| Hospitality & Tourism Complete | Hospitality journals and magazines, 330 titles provided in full-text. 1960 -. | |
| ISI Emerging Markets | News articles and reports from 80 emerging market countries, Early 1990s -. | |
| LexisNexis Academic | Newspapers, trade journals, news wires, broadcast transcripts, 1980 -. | |
| Wall Street Journal | U.S. leading financial newspaper, full-text cover to cover, 1985 -. | |
YOUR LIBRARIAN |
Email: jmdavis@library.umass.edu
Voice: 413.545.6822
Spring 2009 Reference Service
Mon. 12:30-2:00 DuBois Ref.
Tues. 10:30-12:30 ISOM Rm 213
Thurs. 10:30-12:30 DuBois Ref.
Send Email
Library Links
UMass Links
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 





Loading content... please wait