HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Markets            Print Page
  
 

MARKET RESEARCH - INTRODUCTION

Library resources are listed in four categories: 1) market reports; 2) market data compilations; 3) news articles; and 4) government resources. For help with market research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian. Market research tips:

1. Start your research with market reports. Mintel, MarketResearch.com (consumer markets); FAITS, Forrester (technology markets); First Research, IBISWorld (industry perspective).

2. Gather market data.  GMID (consumer expenditure/consumption by country); Market Share Reporter (market share); iPOLL Databank (polls, public opinion); SBRNet (sporting goods/sports participation); LexisNexis Statistical (index to data publications).

3. Locate recent news articles about markets. Business journal databases contain full-text articles about markets, consumer, products, and advertising. Start with ABI/Inform Global or Business Source Premier.

 

MARKET REPORTS - CONSUMER, BUSINESS & TECHOLOGY MARKETPLACE

DataMonitor Market Reports In Business & Company Resource Center - Go to Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
Faulkner Advisory - IT Studies IT infrastructure, telecom, wireless, data networks, convergence, security, internet.
Forrester Research Focus on internet markets - business applications and consumer retailing. Decision tools.
First Research Analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance.
IBISWorld Reports Industry focus - market characteristics, segments, market share, competitors, forecasts.
ISI Emerging Markets Markets in 85 emerging market countries. Choose a country, select the Research tab.
MarketResearch.com Manufacturing, computers, electronics, finance, food, healthcare, drugs, retailing, telecom.
Mintel Reports Retail markets, technology, consumer lifestyle, hospitality, leisure and tourism markets.
. .
 

MARKET DATA COMPILATIONS

Business Rankings Annual In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search, select Rankings.
DemographicsUSA County Edition Demographics & spending potential for US Counties. Du Bois Ref HC110.C6.S852.
Editor & Publisher Market Guide Market data for all U.S. cities with daily newspapers. In Du Bois Ref. HF5905.E38.
Global Market Information Database Market and lifestyle data for 205 countries. Data from 1977, forecasted to 2015.
iPOLL Databank Public opinion polls conducted in the US since 1940, from 150 survey organizations.
Lifestyle Market Analyst Demographic/lifestyle profiles for 211 DMAs. Du Bois Ref. HF5415.33.U6.L54.
LexisNexis Statistical Index to statistics published by the U.S. government, state governments, NGOs.
Market Share Reporter In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search, select Rankings.
Sport Business Research Network Sporting goods purchases, sports participation, pro sport attendance. Annual 1993-.
 

MARKET NEWS ARTICLES - FROM TRADE JOURNALS AND BUSINESS MAGAZINES

ABI/Inform Global Trade journals and business magazines, current plus archive, 3,000 journals, 1971-.
ABI/Inform Dateline City & regional business newspapers - for hard-to-find local news, 1980s -.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry Comprehensive full-text trade journal library, 1975-.
Business Source Premier The library's largest full-text collection of trade journals and magazines, 1965-.
LexisNexis Academic Daily newspapers, newsletter, news wires, and TV/radio broadcast transcripts.
Massachusetts Newsstand Daily newspapers from eight Massachusetts cities, plus weekly business newspapers.
Regional Business News Regional business newspapers from regions and cities across the US.
Springfield Republican Daily business news for Western Massachusetts - Hampden & Hampshire counties.
Wall Street Journal Full-text of every Wall Street Journal article from 1889 to present.
 

GOVERNMENT RESOURCES

American Community Survey Ongoing survey of American household demographics and lifestyles, from Census Bureau.
American Factfinder U.S. Census of Population & House; Economic Census, Bureau of Census homepage.
Commonwealth Communities Data profiles for every Massachusetts community, from Massachusetts government.
Consumer Expenditure Survey American expenditures on food, housing, transport, education, healthcare, from the BLS.
County and City Data Book Demographic data on all US counties and cities, published annually by Census Bureau.
County/ZIP Business Patterns Economic, industry and employment data by U.S. County, from Census Bureau.
FedStats Clearinghouse for all U.S. Government agency statistical publications.
State & Metro Area Data Book Demographic data on states/metropolitan areas, published annually by Census Bureau.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Statistics on US social, political, economic conditions, published annually since 1878.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait