HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Companies            Print Page
  
 

COMPANY RESEARCH - INTRODUCTION

Library resources are listed in three categories: 1) company reports; 2) journal/magazine articles; 3) company directories. For help with company research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian, jmdavis@library.umass.edu. Quick start tips:

1.  Get the big picture first - retrieve company reports. Hoover's (brief facts), Mergent (annual reports), BCRC (company histories), Datamonitor (SWOT analysis), S&P, Morningstar, Value Line (stocks).
2. Update findings with news articles. Retrieve current trade journal articles from ABI/Inform Global, Business Source Premier or LexisNexis Academic.
3. Create company lists with directories. Use directories to identify business customers, competitors, and suppliers: ReferenceUSA, D&B Million Dollar Database, CorpTech (technology companies), Corporate Affiliations (family tree).

 

COMPANY REPORTS - Company history, operations, products, revenues, competitors, leadership

DataMonitor SWOT Reports Company strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats. SWOT reports in right column.
Directory of Company Histories Company histories - select Advanced Search, then "Histories" from drop-down menu.
Hoover's Company Profiles Brief reports - 14,000 companies - background, products, revenues, competitors.
IBISWorld Reports Industry analysis - current performance of major companies within their industries.
Mergent Online Financial analysis - public companies worldwide. 15 yrs. financials/ratios. SEC filings.
Mintel Reports Market analysis - market strategy of major retailer - target market and advertising.
Morningstar Research Center Mutual fund and stock analysis and data. Industry aggregates.
S&P Stock Reports Investment analysis - current public company financial performance. Investment advice.
Value Line Investment Survey Information and investment advice on 1,700 stocks in 100 industries.
 

JOURNAL ARTICLES - Current news on company performance and decision-making

ABI/Inform Global Trade journals and business magazines, current plus archive, 3,000 journals, 1971-.
ABI/Inform Dateline City & regional business newspapers - for hard-to-find local news, 1980s -.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry Comprehensive full-text trade journal library, 1975-.
Business Source Premier The library's largest full-text collection of trade journals and magazines, 1965-.
LexisNexis Academic Daily newspapers, newsletter, news wires, and TV broadcast transcripts.
Massachusetts Newsstand Daily newspapers from 8 Massachusetts cities, plus weekly business newspapers.
Regional Business News Regional business newspapers from regions and cities across the US.
Springfield Republican Daily business news for Western Massachusetts - Hampden & Hampshire counties.
Wall Street Journal Full-text of every Wall Street Journal article from 1889 to present.
 

COMPANY DIRECTORIES - Locate companies by type of business, location or size

American Firms in Foreign Countries Directory of U.S. firms with substantial overseas subsidiary or branches.
Corporate Affiliations Corporate family tree for 200,000 US and international companies.
CorpTech Directory Directory of U.S. technology manufacturers. Detailed product-level indexing.
D&B Million Dollar Database Directory of U.S. companies with $5 million + sales or 65 + employees.
Foreign Firms in the United States Directory foreign firms with U.S. operations, subsidiaries, or branches.
ISI Emerging Markets Directories for companies in 85 emerging market countries.
ReferenceUSA Directory of 14 million U.S./Canadian businesses Search by type/location.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait