HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SCH-MGMT 591S             Print Page
  
 

COURSE GUIDE - STOCK AND INVESTMENT STRATEGY

Welcome SCH-MGMT 591S students! This guide helps you to locate information about public companies - current and historical company performance and executive biographies/interviews. The Library subscribes to several company report databases - all are organized into categories below. For help with public company research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian.

Featured Database:
Link to Morningstar Database

Morningstar suppports research for undergraduate and graduate investment courses and professional certification programs.. It analyzes 24,000 mutual funds and all NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ stocks. Filter and sort stocks by 450 stock data points. Updated continuously throughout the day.

 

STOCK ANALYST REPORTS - STOCK SCREENERS

Morningstar Investment Research Center. Reports and stock screeners for all mutual funds and stocks.
Value Line Investment Survey. Stock reports and investment advice for 1,700 key stocks in 100 industries. .

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. Select the COMPANIES tab at top, then Stock Reports from the Publications drop-down menu.
 

COMPANY FACTS - COMPANY HISTORY



Hoover's Company Profiles. Brief reports on more 13,500 public and private companies - quick facts, background, operations, products, revenues, competitors, executive names.


International Directory of Company Histories. Company histories for 4,500 companies. Access: Part of the Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Go to BCRC, click Advanced Search. Select "Histories" from the drop-down menu.
LexisNexis Academic. Select the BUSINESS button in the top banner to search the Lexis Company Dossier.
 

LEADER BIOGRAPHIES

Biography Resource Center. Biographical essays, brief biographies, and news articles on more than 300,000 notable figures in science, history, business, government and popular culture. Fact Sheet
International Directory of Business Biographies. Biographical profiles of executives from the world's biggest and most influential companies, including those businesses on Fortune magazine's Fortune 500 and Global 500 lists.
LexisNexis Business News Transcripts. Transcripts  of interviews with business leaders from network, cable and radio news shows, e.g., CNBC, NPR, CNN.
Encyclopedia of Leadership.Essays on leadership theories and practice, biographical essays, and case studies focused on leaders (and their followers). Published by Sage Publications.
 

ANNUAL REPORTS - SEC FILINGS - CORPORATE FINANACIALS




Mergent Online. Reports on 11,000 U.S. companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies. 15 years of company financial and ratios. Includes SEC filings and annual reports to stockholders. Coverage: SEC filings from 1993 to present. Annual reports from 1997 to present.
 

SWOT REPORTS: STRENGTHS - WEAKNESSES - OPPORTUNITIES - THREATS



DataMonitor SWOT Reports. Part of the Business Source Premier database - SWOT reports on major companies worldwide - from UK-based business publisher DataMonitor. Locate the SWOT Analyses in the right column.
 

JOURNAL/MAGAZINE ARTICLES ABOUT COMPANIES AND EXECUTIVES

ABI/Inform Global. Scholarly/trade journals, business magazines. Indexes technology management journals, 1971-.
Business Source Premier. Scholarly/trade journals, business magazines. 8,000 titles indexed, 1965-.
 

YOUR LIBRARIAN

J. Michael Davis
Contact Info:
Voice: 413.545.6822
Email: jmdavis@library.umass.edu
Fall 2009 Reference Desk Service
Mon. 12:30-2:00 DuBois Ref.
Tues. 10:30-12:30 ISOM Rm 213
Thurs. 10:30-12:30 DuBois Ref.
Send Email

 

DU BOIS at NIGHT

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait