HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Community             Print Page
  
 

LIBRARY BUSINESS RESOURCES FOR MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS

This guide lists library resources available to Massachusetts residents through UMass Amherst, State government, and the Boston Public Library.

Massachusetts residents, entrepreneurs, and businesses are invited to use the Library's collections and services. Residents may borrow books and use library databases on a walk-in basis. For help with research, contact business librarian J. Michael Davis.

Getting Started: Hours I Directions I Parking I Map I Floor Directory I Services I Librarians I Friends I Call Numbers I Director's Welcome I Library News I UMass Arts I UMass Sports

 

UMASS AMHERST LIBRARY RESOURCES

Book Resources

Massachusetts residents are granted full book-borrowing privileges. The UMass Library holds three million books and adds 100,000 new books annually.  Business books are located on Floors 17 & 18 of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Complete the Borrower Card Application, then pick up a card at the Circulation Office (1st Floor, Du Bois Library). Please bring the required documents. Key links:

  UMass Library Catalog  Search the Library's collection by author, title, subject or keyword.
  C/W MARS  Can't find it at UMass? Search all public library catalogs in Western Massachusetts.
  Library Account  Login to your library account, check book due dates, renew your books online.
  Circulation Office  Contact Circulation with questions about book borrowing or library accounts. 


Database Resources

Library databases are available to Massachusetts residents on a walk-in basis. Residents may use any of the 58 public workstations located in the Learning Commons, Lower Level, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Remote access to UMass databases is granted only to current UMass students, faculty and staff. The Library's online business collection includes these key small business resources:

Trade Journals I Business Magazines I Daily Newspapers I Business E-books I Company Directories I Company Reports I Industry Reports I Market Reports I Stock Reports I Model Business Plans I Rankings I Ad Rates I Business Encyclopedias I Almanacs

  Business Database Collection Proprietary business databases provide books, articles, reports, and data.
  Library Databases A to Z by Title The entire collection of database subscriptions held at UMass Amherst
  Library Databases by Discipline Library databases listed by academic department.
  E-Book Database Databases that aggregate large collection of books in electronic format.
 

STATE GOVERNMENT & BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY RESOURCES

The Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) offer all Massachusetts residents remote access to proprietary business databases. Online resources include business e-books, trade journals, business magazines, and newspapers. Request a BPL E-Card for access.

Connect to business databases for Massachusetts residents at http://www.bpl.org/electronic/index.htm. You will need your 13-digit BPL E-Card number to login. Here are the database names and descriptions of key resources for small business research:

Biography Resource Center Biographical profiles of notable persons - including business leaders - living or deceased.
Business/Management Practices Three hundred core management journals - focus on the practical aspects of business.
Business Plans Handbook Full-text model business plans. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
CorpTech Directory Directory of 95,000 technology companies. Custom indexing for product-level research.
D & B Million Dollar Database Directory of 1.6 million U.S. companies. Identify customers, competitors, or suppliers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Dozens of research encyclopedias including many business encyclopedias.
General Businessfile Index to 1,000 business journals/magazines, 700 titles in full text. 1980-.
General Reference Center Gold 3,500 multidisciplinary full-text journals and reference publications.
Mergent Online Reports on 30,000 public companies worldwide. Includes SEC filings, annual reports.
NetLibrary 4,000 e-books, e.g., Legal Guide for Starting Running a Small Business.
Newspaper Source U.S. daily newspapers, current articles plus archive. Includes TV/radio transcripts.
Massachusetts Newsstand Ten Massachusetts daily newspapers, plus weekly business newspapers.
ReferenceUSA Directory of 14 million U.S./Canadian businesses. Search by business type, location, size.
Regional Business News Business news from 75 regional business newspapers. 1992 - present.
Safari Business Books Online Over 1,600 electronic books for programming, IT, and business professionals.
TableBase A "data" database - market share data, company/brand rankings, and forecasts.
. .
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait