HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

MKTG 422            Print Page
  
 

COURSE GUIDE FOR MKTG 422 STUDENTS - LIBRARY RESOURCES FOR THE PROMOTIONAL CAMPAIGN PROJECT

Welcome MKTG 422 students. The MKTG 422 course guide lists the best library resources for the Promotional Campaign Project. For help with research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian and Library Liaison to the Isenberg School Marketing Department.

Featured Library Database:    

About Mintel: Mintel is the Library's most important market report database. Mintel reports analyze U.S. and international consumer markets - focus on retailing, food & beverages, healthcare, technology, travel and tourism. Each report describes the market drivers, size, trends, segments, supply structure, advertising, distribution, consumer preference, and forecast.

 

TRADE JOURNAL & MAGAZINE ARTICLES - NEWS ABOUT PRODUCTS & PRODUCT PROMOTION

Research strategy: Conduct a thorough review of recent news articles about your chosen product. Identify brand strategy, new product introductions and consumer target markets. Start your journal research with ABI/Inform Global or Business Source Premier.

ABI/Inform GlobalScholarly/trade journals, business magazines. ABI provides 3,000 full-text subscriptions, 1971-.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry. Trade journals for industry, product and market news, 1971-.
Business Source PremierScholarly/trade journals, business magazines. 8,000 titles indexed, 1965-.
LexisNexis AcademicU.S. daily newspapers, plus industry and product-level trade journals , 1960s-.
 

INDUSTRY REPORTS - PRODUCT ANALYSIS IN A BROADER ECONOMIC CONTEXT

Research strategy: Industry reports put product-level research in a broader economic context. Reports include industry data, market segments, current conditions, competitors, and performance forecasts. Start industry research with IBISWorld and First Research.

  IBISWorld Reports. Analysis, statistics, segments, competitors, current performance, 5-year forecasts.
  First Research. Industry analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance metrics.
  Encyclopedia of American Industries. Brief reports. Select ADVANCED SEARCH, then INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS.
  S&P Industry Surveys. From Standard & Poor's - macro-level analysis of economic sectors. Select COMPANY tab.
 

MARKET REPORTS - PRODUCT-LEVEL ANALYSIS OF CONSUMER PREFERENCE

Research strategy: Market reports provide product-level analysis of consumer preference. They include extensive comment on product promotion and brand strategy. For consumer markets: Mintel and MarketResearch.com. For technology markets: FAITS and Forrester.

Mintel Reports. Reports on retailing, healthcare, technology, and tourism. Consumer analysis and product promotion.
MarketResearch.com Academic. Reports on consumer goods, food/beverage, life science, technology, media.
DataMonitor Market Reports. In Business & Company Resource Center - Go to Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns. Profiles of 500 notable advertising campaigns of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Forrester Research. Reports on technology markets and e-commerce. Focus on application of technology.

Faulkner Advisory on IT Studies (FAITS). Reports on IT, telecom, wireless, networks, security, enterprise systems, internet.

 

COMPANY REPORTS - COMPANY STRATEGY FOR PRODUCTS, BRANDS, PROMOTION

  Hoover's Company Profiles. Quick facts on major public/private companies worldwide. Includes competitor lists.
  LexisNexis Company Dossier. Integrated reports, articles, data. Select BUSINESS tab in the bar at top of screen.
  S&P Stock Reports. Investment performance of U.S. public companies. Select COMPANY tab at top of screen.
  Mergent Online. Reports on public companies worldwide, properties, SEC filings, 15 yr financials.
  DataMonitor SWOT Reports. Strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats. Select SWOT in right column.
  Business/Company Resource Center. Company histories. Select ADVANCED SEARCH, HISTORIES from menu.
 

ADVERTISING COST - RESOURCES FOR AD BUDGET PLANNING

SRDS Advertising Source Online. Directory of national advertisers - includes contact information and advertising rates. Search
for advertisers by 80 market classification. Covers business & consumer magazines, newspapers, and radio stations.

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. Directory of print publishers and radio/TV stations, organized geographically by state and community.

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook (At Reference Desk, DuBois Library, Call # Ref. HF6146.T42.B72). Profiles all U.S./Canadian
radio, television, and cable stations, organized geographically by state and city. Includes index by program formats, e.g., rock.

Marketer's Guide to Media. (At Reference Desk, DuBois Library, call # Ref. HF5826.5M45). Current rates and audience estimates
for the major media. Includes print and broadcast audience demographics.

 

ADVERTISING EXPENDITURES BY MAJOR ADVERTISERS

Advertising Red Books. Information on 18,000 national advertisers with ad budgets greater than $200,000. Includes profiles of 14,000 ad agencies. Describes client accounts represented and fields of specialization. Search by agency location, type, specialization, revenue class, and client list.

Ad $ Summary (In Reference Collection, DuBois Library, Call # HF5801.A14). Total annual advertising expenditures by brand name or product category. Ad expenditures for eleven media: magazines, Sunday magazines, newspapers, national newspapers, outdoor, network TV, spot TV, syndicated TV, cable TV, network radio, and national spot radio.

 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Global Market Information Database. Demographic, economic and market data for 205 countries. Includes product-level consumer expenditure by product-type. Annual data -1977 to present, forecasted to 2015.

Lifestyle Market Analyst. Demographic and lifestyle profiles for 211 Designated Market Areas. Covers 68 lifestyle types including home life, investing and money, sports, hobbies, and high-tech activities. Location: Du Bois Reference Desk, Ref. HF5415.33.U6.L54.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide. Business and demographic data on 1,600 U.S. daily newspaper cities. Includes spending data and demographic trends. Location: Du Bois Reference Collection, Ref. HF5905.E38.

Survey of Buying Power. Marketing statistics for states, counties, MSAs, and cities. Buying Power Index ranks markets by consumer demand. Location: Du Bois Library Reference Desk, Ref. HC110.C6.S85.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait