HTMGT 693AMKTG 422MKTG 437MKTG 491JPLSOILIN 397MSCH-MGMT 499/689SCH-MGMT 591SSCH-MGMT 797VLSCH-MGMT/ENGIN 597B/797BSCH-MGT 499SOM 310SPORTMGT 694B
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business & Management  Tags: accounting business finance management marketing  

A Guide to the Library's full-text online Business Collection
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HTMGT 693A            Print Page
  
 

COURSE GUIDE - HOSPITALITY FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

Welcome HTMGT 693A students. The Library's corporate finance collection includes brief fact reports, in-depth reports, SWOT reports, company histories, annual and quarterly financials/ratios, and current journal articles on company policy and strategy. Most resources are available online 24/7 at your desktop! For help with research, contact Mike Davis, Business Librarian and Library Liaison to HTM.

FEATURED DATABASE
.

.
About Mergent Online: Mergent is the Library's most comprehensive corporate finance database - providing analysis of 11,000 U.S. & 17,000 non-U.S. public companies - representing 90% of the world's market capitalization. Mergent includes 15 years of financials/ratios, SEC filings, and annual reports to stockholders.

 

MERGENT ONLINE - SEARCH TIPS

Single Company Report. Find a report for a single company - type company name or ticker symbol in Box 1, called Identifier.
Multiple Company Report. Create a list of companies by industry - type the six-digit NAICS code in Box 2, called Classification. Select NYSE or NASDAQ from the INDEX menu (optional). Select US from Country menu (optional).
Note: Here are the official U.S. government NAICS Codes for selected hospitality industries: 721110 - Hotels; 721120 - Casino Hotels; 722110 - Full-Service Restaurants; 722211 - Limited-Service Restaurants;  All NAICS Codes.
 

COMPANY REPORT DATABASES - SWOT REPORTS, INVESTMENT ANALYSIS, COMPANY HISTORIES

Hoover's Company Profiles. Quick facts on major public/private companies worldwide. Includes competitor lists.
LexisNexis Company Dossier. Integrated reports, articles, data. Select BUSINESS tab in the bar at top of the screen.
S&P Stock Reports. Investment performance of U.S. public companies. Select COMPANY tab at top of the screen.
Mergent Online. Reports on public companies worldwide, properties, SEC filings, 15 year financials/ratios.
DataMonitor SWOT Reports. Strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats. Select SWOT in right column.

Business/Company Resource Center. Company histories. Select ADVANCED SEARCH, then HISTORIES from the menu.

 

JOURNAL/MAGAZINE/NEWSPAPER ARTICLES - FOR PRELIMINARY LITERATURE REVIEW

  Hospitality & Tourism Complete. Hospitality & tourism journals/magazines/newspapers, 350 full-text titles, 1960s -..
  ABI/Inform GlobalScholarly/trade journals, business magazines. Indexes technology management journals, 1971-.
  Business Source PremierScholarly/trade journals, business magazines. 8,000 titles indexed, 1965-.
  LexisNexis AcademicU.S. daily newspapers, plus industry and product-level trade journals , 1960s-.
 

MARKET AND INDUSTRY REPORTS

Mintel Reports. U.S. & international market reports - Focuses on retail markets, food service, leisure and tourism markets.
Marketresearch.Com Academic. Reports on consumer demographics, electronics, business services, food, and retailing.
IBISWorld United States. Industry reports on the past, current, and expected performance of every industry in the US.
 

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Profile ImageJ. Michael Davis
Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
jmdavis@library.umass.edu
Voice 413.545.6822

Fall 2008 Reference Desk Service
Mon. 12:30-2:00 DuBois Ref.
Tues. 10:30-12:30 ISOM Rm 213
Thurs. 10:30-12:30 DuBois Ref.
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait