Diplomatic reportsLatin American newspapersSpanish colonial history microfilm
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latin American Studies 

This is a guide to resources in Latin American Studies in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
Last update: Oct 01st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/latam  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Latin American databases             Print Page
  
 
 

Latin American databases

Subscription databases (require UMass ID to acess):

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Articles from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-.

ClasePeriódica
Indexes thousands of Latin American science, social science and humanities journals. 1975-.

Informe
News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current.

Latin American Weekly Report
Economic and political news from Latin America. In English. 1967-.

EIU Country Reports
Economist Intelligence Unit economic and political analysis and statistics, worldwide.

Europa World Yearbook
Excellent source on individual nations, with statistics, political summaries, and economic information.

ISI Emerging Markets
News, company and industry reports, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts for 80 emerging market countries. 1995-.

World Development Indicators
Bank international development indicators, 1960-.

Countries and their cultures
Information on food, rituals, pastimes, arts, etc. of 200 nations.

PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Free databases:

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Content
Provides the tables of contents to over 800 journals, primarily in the social sciences and humanities, published in Latin America.

SCIELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
Open-access social science & scientific journals from Latin America.

Red CLACSO
"Virtual library"; open-access portal to social science reports from the Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

CARINDEX
CARINDEX is an index to the contents of West Indian journals, published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, papers presented at conferences, collections of working papers, etc.

Portal to Brazil
"The BRAZIL PORTAL is a comprehensive news aggregator. It covers Brazilian foreign and national affairs as well as environmental, economic, social, scientific and political issues in Brazil. The PORTAL is a non-partisan, independent project of the Brazil Institute of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars."

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait