Choosing a topicDictionaries, encyclopedias
NCBI DatabasesPlant Genome Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Biology 

A guide to resources in Biology at UMass and beyond.
Last update: Oct 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/BioLib  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Resources

RefWorks Login

Subject Specialists!

Basic search tips

Biology Department

 

 

Getting the article

UMLinks

When searching for articles, look for the UMLinks button. It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the libraries. Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.

 

Online Resources in Biology

Online Journal Databases 

IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.

Biological Abstracts
Co
mprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.

Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

BioOne
Bioscience research journals in full text, 1998-present.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database
of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present. Public access version

Zoological Record
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Articles from serial publications, books, reports, and conference proceedings published in the field of aquatic science, 1965-present.

CAB Abstracts
Source for journal articles and other material on land use: agriculture, forestry, biotechnology, agricultural economics, tourism, nutrition, etc., 1910-present.

BioMed Central
Free (open source) access to federally funded peer-reviewed biomedical research in over 100 recent journals.

Biological and Agricultural Index
Articles in about 300 scholarly journals on agriculture, food production, nutrition, forestry, marine biology and plant pathology, 1984-present. 

Genetics Abstracts
Citations to articles on genetics research, updated monthly. Current year and last year.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.

      
     

    Contact me

    Profile ImageMaxine Schmidt
    Contact Info:
    Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library
    University of Massachusetts Amherst
    Amherst, MA 01003
    413-545-6739
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    biology, geology, geography, resource economics, environmental sciences

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait