- American Folklife Resources
This guide is for students and teachers who want to find out more about American Folklife Studies. It will define American Folklife and trace a pathway through the print materials and network resources that together will give you basis from which you can prepare lesson plans or syllabi or research a specific topic. The guide also lists educational institutions that are known for their folklore and folklife programs.
- American Folklore: Famous American Folktales
"Retelling of folktales folktales, myths, legends, fairy tales, superstitions, weatherlore, and ghost stories from all over the Americas."
- American Memory Project
The Library of Congress American Memory Project provides online access to spoken word and sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music documenting the American experience. Search folklore.
- Boston Ghosts, Ghost Stories and Haunted Folklore in New England
Ghost stories and more for Boston and New England
- Brothers Grimm: Fairy Tales, History, Facts, and More
12 unvarnished tales, based on a 1914 translation.
- Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials drawn from the special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries. Use the subject search to search for: folk songs, folklorists, riddles, sayings, festivals, etc. Includes access to primary source works, images and mp3 audio recordings.
- Encyclopedia Mythica
Features scholarly articles on "Creatures, spirits, demons, characters, etc. from all parts of the world. It includes creatures from cryptozoology."
- Florida Folklife Database
Search this database for descriptions of photographs and audio recordings from the Florida Folklife Collection available at the State Archives of Florida. Approximately 46,000 photographic images and approximately 5,000 audio recordings are cataloged.
- Folklore and Folk Music Archivist
IUScholarWorks is a set of services from the Indiana University Libraries and Indiana University Digital Library Program to make the work of IU scholars freely available and ensures that these resources are preserved and organized for the future.
- Folkstreams: The Best of American Folklore Films
Folkstreams.net has two goals. One is to build a national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures. The other is to give them renewed life by streaming them on the internet. The films were produced by independent filmmakers in a golden age that began in the 1960s and was made possible by the development first of portable cameras and then capacity for synch sound. Their films focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many differe
- Massachusetts: Folklife in Massachusetts
The collections of the American Folklife Center contain rich and varied materials from Massachusetts that document the diversity of the state's folk traditions.
- Open Folklore
Open Folklore–now being created by the American Folklore Society and the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries–is a new scholarly resource that will make a greater number and variety of useful resources, both published and unpublished, available for the field of folklore studies and the communities with which folklore scholars partner.
- Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
The Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage is a research and educational unit of the Smithsonian Institution promoting the understanding and continuity of diverse, contemporary grassroots cultures in the United States and around the world. The Center produces the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, exhibitions, documentary films and videos, symposia, publications, and educational materials.
- The American Folklife Center
The twentieth century has been called the age of documentation, and folklorists and other ethnographers have taken advantage of each succeeding technology, from Thomas Edison's wax-cylinder recording machine, invented in 1877, to the latest digital audio equipment, in order to record the voices and music of many regional, ethnic, and cultural groups, in the United States and around the world.
- UCLA Folkmed Database
For more than fifty years, folklorists associated with the University of California, Los Angeles have systematically documented beliefs and practices relating to folk medicine and alternative healthcare. In order to make the data more readily available to the worldwide community of researchers and medical practitioners, the Online Archive of American Folk Medicine was established in 1996 under the direction of Dr. Michael Owen Jones, a professor of folklore and history at UCLA.