Health Policy and Management
resources for grad students in the Health Policy and Management track of Health Promotion & Policy
Recommended Databases for Health Policy and Management
- Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowFind articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present. - PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-. - PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC. - Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from 550 journals in the field of primary, secondary and higher education, 1988-present.
Finding Full Text & Interlibrary Loan
When you find an article you want, you can click on the UMass search button to get the full text.
The UMass search button connects to a tool that will find the full text online if it is available in any of the databases UMass has access to.
- It will also search the library catalog to see if the library has it in print.
If an article or book is unavailable at UMass Amherst, you can get it using our Interlibrary Loan service. There will be a link to Request this resource through Interlibrary Loan on the window that opens after you click the UMass search button.
- Here's a screenshot as an example of you might see after clicking the UMass search button.
More about Interlibrary Loan
To log into Interlibrary Loan use your UMass NetID and password (same as what you use for SPIRE and Moodle or Blackboard).
The first time you use Interlibrary Loan, you will be prompted to fill out a profile form, so we know who you are and how to contact you when your item arrives.
- NOTE: In the Delivery Preferences section of the profile form, you must choose a Loan Delivery Method and a Pickup Location. All article requests are delivered electronically, so these options do not apply to articles.
After completing the profile, you should then see a pre-populated article request form. Make sure all the required fields are completed (sometimes they don't all transfer to the form), then submit it and usually in 1-2 business days you'll get an email that your article has arrived! The email will include a link into the Interlibrary Loan system, where your article PDF will be available to print or download.
Places to find Public Health Data
- CDC Data and StatisticsData and statistics on a variety of topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Child & Family Data Archive"Launched in 2019, the Child and Family Data Archive (CFData) preserves and disseminates data on topics related to young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. CFData holds hundreds of datasets and accompanying documentation for secondary data analysis on important issues of policy and practice relevance, including data previously housed with Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC)."
- Data.gov"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more." - Google Dataset SearchFrom their About page: "Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful."
- ICPSR Data"An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields." - National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) Measures RegistryA collaboration among CDC, NIH, USDA, and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The registry "is a searchable database of diet and physical activity measures relevant to childhood obesity research. Its purpose is to standardize use of common measures and research methods across childhood obesity research at the individual, community, and population levels."
- National Institute of Child Health and Human Development DASH (Data and Specimen Hub)"The NICHD Data and Specimen Hub (DASH) is a centralized resource that allows researchers to share and access de-identified data from studies funded by NICHD. DASH also serves as a portal for requesting biospecimens from selected DASH studies."
- PMC Article Datasetsoptions for text-mining PubMedCentral articles
- USDA FoodData Central"FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."
- The World Bank Health Nutrition and Population Statistics"Health Nutrition and Population Statistics database provides key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international and national sources. Themes include global surgery, health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, infectious diseases, medical resources and usage, noncommunicable diseases, nutrition, population dynamics, reproductive health, universal health coverage, and water and sanitation."
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics from U.S. agencies on population, society, trade, the government, and much more, 2013-present. This for-profit version continues Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-2012. - Proquest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies, 1973-present. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps illustrating Census data from 1790 to 2010, with recent community, religion, and carbon emissions data.
Looking for existing Surveys or Instruments?
Here are 2 databases that contain surveys and other instruments that may be able to be used in your research.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments. - Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. MMY contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas - psychology, education, business, and leadership. Coverage: 1938 to present.
Other Databases To Try
- Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journals covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, 1974 - present. - Science.gov This link opens in a new windowA site that organizes access to agriculture, computer, health, energy and other scientific information from U.S. government agencies. Current.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
CRS Reports
Find CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports on current Public Health topics using the ProQuest Congressional database.
Use the advanced search feature to limit to just CRS reports.
- ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
Using Ulrich's
- Ulrich's Serials DirectoryUse this resource to search for information on a specific journal, like whether or not it is peer-reviewed or which databases it is indexed in. You can also search for journals by topic.
