Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Grants  Tags: grants funding fellowship  

Last update: May 14th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/grants  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Library Resources             Print Page
  
 

Help

There are many ways of obtaining help from UMass Librarian.

Come to the Reference Desk:
Monday - Thursday 8:30-9
Friday 8:30-6  
Saturday 10-6 
Sunday 1-9

Call during staffed hours:
W.E.B. Du Bois Reference Desk 413-545-0151
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library 413-545-6741

Instant Message:
Instant Message with a Reference Librarian during staffed hours.

Email:
Use or online form to submit a brief, factual question.

Schedule a Research Consultation:
Schedule an appointment with a subject specialist.

 
 

Library Resources

UMASS AMHERST LIBRARY SOURCES
Following is a list of sources useful for academics who are applying or searching for grant funding.


DATABASES

Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities A searchable database offering many funding opportunities in all areas of academic scholarship.  Records include: title, abstract, funding amount, sponsoring organization, application deadlines, and eligibility requirements.

 

REFERENCE SOURCES

General Directories
Annual Register of Grant Support (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/LB 2336 A5) Describes fellowship and grant programs of a variety of public and private funding sources. Entries include a description of the grant program, application requirements and procedures, average amount of support awarded, total number of applications received, and number of grants awarded.

Awards, Honors & Prizes
(UM/Ref. AS 8 A93) Lists awards and prizes for all types of community service and special achievements in the US and some 95 other countries.

Directory of Research Grants (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/LB 2338 D55) Describes potential sources of funding for research-related projects within specific disciplines and subject areas. Indexed by grant name, sponsoring organization, type of sponsoring organization, and subject. The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance program number is given for federal programs.

Foundation Grants to Individuals (UM/Ref. Desk LB 2336 F598) Identifies over 3,200 foundations that give grants to individuals. The majority of these grants are for educational support. Other award categories include: general welfare; arts and cultural support; grants to foreign individuals; awards, prizes and grants by nomination; and grants restricted to company employees.

Grants Register (UM/Ref. LB 2336 G7) International directory of scholarships, fellowships, and research grants intended primarily for graduate students and people who require further professional or vocational training.

International

Financial Aid for Research and Creative Activities Abroad (UM/Ref. LB 2337.2 F551)
Describes scholarships, fellowships, and grants for research and creative activities abroad.

Financial Aid for Study and Training Abroad (UM/Ref. LB 227.1 F552)
Describes scholarships, fellowships and grants for study and training abroad.

Guide to Funding for International and Foreign Programs (UM/Ref. HG 177 G84)

International Foundation Directory (UM/Ref. HV 7 I56)
Describes institutions that operate internationally in a variety of fields. Arranged by country in which the foundation is located. Indexed by name of foundation and by type of activity supported;
e.g., conservation and the environment, law and human rights, medicine and health, etc.

Specific Populations

Disabled

Financial Aid for the Disabled and Their Families (UM/Ref. LB 2337.2 F58)
Provides information on nearly 800 resources for the disabled and their families.

Minorities

Financial Aid for African Americans (UM/Ref. LB2338.F5643)
Financial Aid for Asian Americans (UM/Ref. LB2338.F5644)
Financial Aid for Hispanic Americans (UM/Ref. LC2670.6.F5)
Financial Aid for Native Americans (UM/Ref. LB2338.F5646)
Lists scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, and internships designed primarily or exclusively for these groups.


Women

Directory of Financial Aids for Women (UM/Ref. LB 2338 S342)
Listing of scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, internships, and awards designed primarily or exclusively for women. Indexed by sponsoring organization, geographic area, subject, and filing date.

National Guide to Funding for Women and Girls
(UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/HV 1445 N37)
Information for grant seekers looking for foundation and corporate support for programs for women or girls.

Veterans

Financial Aid for Veterans, Military Personnel, and Their Dependents (UM/Ref. UB 403 F47)
Describes nearly 1,000 programs open to Americans in the military, their families, or veterans.

Subject Directories

Arts and Humanities

Directory of Grants in the Humanities (UM/Ref. AZ 507 D57)
Lists over 3,500 current funding programs that support research and performance in the humanities.

Grants and Awards Available to American Writers (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/LB 2336 P4)
Lists grants and awards worth $500 or more. Indexed by name of organization, by name of award, and by category of writing (fiction, drama, etc.).

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts (UM/Ref. ML 12 M88)
Listing of contests, foundation grants and awards.

National Guide to Funding in Arts and Culture (UM/Ref. NX 396.6 N385)
Identifies foundations, corporate giving programs and public charities that have shown a subsantial interest in supporting the visual and performing arts, arts education, museums, film and video, public television and radio.

Health

National Guide to Funding in Health (UM/Ref. RA 410.53 N376)
Directory of grants available to support health programs.


Libraries, Education

National Guide to Funding for Libraries and Information Services (UM/Ref. Z 683.2 U6N38)
Identifies foundation and corporate support for organizations concerned with libraries and information services. Recent grants are briefly described.

  Grantsmanship

Finding Funding: Grantwriting from Start to Finish, Including Project Management and Internet Use (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/LB2825 .F522 2001)

First-Time Grantwriter's Guide to Success (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/LC243.A1 K56 2002)

Grantwriter's Internet Companion: a Resource for Educators and Others Seeking Grants and Funding (UM/Ref. LC243.A1 P48 2001)

Grant Writing in Higher Education: a Step-by-step Guide (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois LC241 .H46 2004)

"How To" Grants Manual: Successful Grantseeking Techniques for Obtaining Public and Private Grants (UM/Ref HG177 .B38)

Winning Research Funding (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois HG177 .P474 2003)

Proposal Writing

          How to Write a Grant Proposal (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/HG177 .N477 2003)

          Proposal Planning and Writing (UM/W.E.B. Du Bois/HG177.5.U6 M56 2003)

          Proposal Preparation Resources

          Proposal Writing Internet Resources

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDavid Mac Court
Contact Info:
Research and Instructional Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts at Amherst
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-577-1982
Send Email

Subjects:
University Without Walls, RefWorks

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait