This is the "Research Home" page of the "UMass Library Guide: ENTREPRENEURSHIP" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UMass Library Guide: ENTREPRENEURSHIP  

UMass Library resources for entrepreneurial business planning
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/entrepreneurship Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UMass Library Resources for Student Entrepreneurs

The UMass Library supports entrepreneurial research campus wide, including the Isenberg School, UMassEI, UMass Amherst Innovation Challenge, BDIC and the College of Engineering. For help with research, contact Mike Davis, jmdavis@library.umass.edu, Business Librarian, UMass Amherst Libraries.

Featured Library Resource - ProQuest Entrepreneurship - multiple content-types for entrepreneurs in one database - journals and magazines, market research, business plans, how-to books, templates and forms, business cases, company profiles, working papers, conference proceedings, video clips, blogs, and dissertations.

 

Streaming Videos - Tip & first-hand accounts - from entrepreneurs and business leaders

Wayne Meichner from Polo Ralph Lauren shares the impact of mentors on his life ........

ProQuest Entrepreneur Video Clips.  Ten thousand video clips by entrepreneurs, business leaders, financiers, and business plan contestants. First-hand accounts of business experiences, advice for those just starting out, plus insights into effective management techniques. 200 topics of high interest to entrepreneurs. View, download or emailed video transcripts.

 .........
 

New Products - Product Launch Analytics - from DataMonitor - New product insight for entrepreneurs

.....


Product Launch Analytics
 provides entrepreneurs with real-time knowledge of new product launches worldwide - consumer packaged goods - food, beverages, household, personal care, pet products.

  Search by product, country, claims, flavors, ingredients, nutritional values, packaging size & type.

  View new products in three dimensions. Zoom-in on product labeling, front and back.

  Create graphs, charts, tables. Show geographic heat maps, product launches over time.

 

Business Plans - Full-text business plans from successful entrepreneurs across North America

ProQuest Business Plans
400 business plans from the University of Texas Venture Labs Investment Competition. Includes plans drawn from regional business plan competitions around the world.  Spans all types of businesses from technology to consumer goods.

Business Plans Handbook
Business plans from US small businesses and entrepreneurs. Content: business description; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; production; personnel; finances.

 

Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Articles - Current news about companies, industries, markets, products

Proquest Entrepeneurship Selected articles on entrepreneurial topics from 1000s of business sources. 1965-.
ABI/Inform Complete
Research journals, trade journals, 3,000 full-text pubs. Exclusive provider - WSJ, 1971-.
Business Source Premier Trade journals, business magazines, 8,000 pubs. indexed. Exclusive provider - HBR, 1965-.
LexisNexis Academic Daily newspapers, newsletters, wires, TV broadcast transcripts -  for local/regional news.
Massachusetts Newsbank Daily newspapers from eight Massachusetts cities, plus weekly business newspapers.
Regional Business News Weekly business newspapers from regions and cities across the US.
.
 

Environmental/Social Policy Reports

Sustainability Watch Brief reports on 200+ sustainable business topics.
GREENR Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. Multi-content types.
PolicyFile Reports from think tanks and policy institutes.
 

Industry Reports - Macro-analysis of industry conditions, performance & strategy

IBISWorld Reports Reports for every NAICS industry, based on Porter's Five Forces analysis.
First Research Analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance.
S&P Industry Surveys Standard & Poor's industry analysis from an investment risk perspective.
Plunkett Research Online Industry data & analysis for 30 economic sectors; top companies, market rankings.
.
 

Market Reports - Consumers market analysis - Trends & preferences

Mintel Oxygen Retail markets, technology, consumer lifestyle, hospitality, leisure and tourism markets.
MarketResearch.com
Manufacturing, computers, electronics, finance, food, healthcare, drugs, retailing, telecom.
Forrester Research Focus on internet markets - business applications and consumer retailing. Decision tools.
Faulkner Advisory on IT IT infrastructure, telecom, wireless and data networks, convergence, security, internet.
Passport GMID
Consumer market reports & data for every country worldwide. Historical, current, forecasts.
Plunkett Research Online Market data for 30 economic sectors, top companies, market rankings.
.
 

Company Reports - Facts, history, operations, products, revenues, competitors, leadership

ESG Manager on Campus Analysis of the environmental, social, governance performance of 6,000 global firms.
Mergent Online Financial analysis - public companies worldwide. 15 yrs. financials/ratios, SEC filings.
Hoover's Company Profiles Brief reports - 14,000 companies - background, products, revenues, competitors.
LexisNexis Company Dossier
Public and private company profiles - reports, data, litigation, competitors.
Directory of Company Histories Essays, corporate chronologies on the Worlds' largest, most influential companies.
S&P Stock Reports  Investment analysis and advice, US public company financial performance.
.
 

Company Directories - Locate customers, competitors, suppliers - by type of business, location, size

D&B Million Dollar Database Directory of all US & Canadian companies. Search by type, location, size.
Corporate Affiliations Corporate family tree for 200,000 US and international companies.
Environment Resource Handbook Directory of environmental associations, trade shows, agencies, laws.
Sports Market Place Directory Directory of sport organizations, media, sponsors, events, retailers.
Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory of 2,300 firms - executives, invest amount, criteria, stage, fund size.
 

Your Librarian


Mike Davis - Business Librarian

jmdavis@library.umass.edu

 

NEW - Fall 2012 - NEW

New research database now available: CB Insights - a tool for the study of venture capital, private equity, angel investment.

View current private company deals. Study investor interest & industry preferences. UMass students - Register with a UMass email address prior to access.

 

Featured Journal Subscriptions





© 2014 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip