This is the "Home" page of the "Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive   Tags: collections  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/shoahdatabaseguide Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

VHA Archive

The USC Shoah Foundation Institute was established in 1994 to document the experiences of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. Today, the Institute's Visual History Archive contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages, gathered in 56 countries.

To learn more about the Visual History Archive, visit http://domsife.usc.edu/vhi/scholarship/archival access/.

Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor, The University of Massachusetts Libraries has access to these important and moving testimonies. Here is some important information on how to use this database:

Access to the films must be through on-campus Internet links. There is no remote access to this database.

Users must register to establish an individual account. They may then proceed to search the database.

Users can request a film to be uploaded to the UMass Amherst Library servers. This can require up to 48 hours, but is usually much quicker. Users will then be notified by email when their requested video is available for viewing.

To view your video, click on the "Projects" tab at the top of the website. You may make your film a personal project, a bookmarked project, or a shared project. The last category means that other people can access the requested film clip as long as it is a shared project.

A plugin, Windows Media Player, is required to view the films in Firefox.

System requirements are

PC:
Windows XP/Vista
Windows Media Player 9 or higher
Internet Explorer 6 or later or
Firefox 3 or later (requires Windows Media Player Plugin)

Mac:
Mac OS X 10.4 or higher
QuickTime 7
Flip4Mac WMV Components for QuickTime
Safari 3 or higher

For questions on this resource, please contact pstern@library.umass.edu. For technical assistance, please contact dbhelp@library.umass.edu.

 

© 2014 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip