Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Labor Studies  Tags: unions labor workers bargaining hr  

A Guide to Labor Studies Resources at the UMass Amherst Libraries
Last update: Jun 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/LaborStudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Corporate Research             Print Page
  
 

Strategic Corporate Research - Introduction

This guide lists the best library resources for corporate campaign and union bargaining research. Research categories are adapted from Basic Corporate Research, created by Professor Tom Juravich at the UMass Labor Center. For help with research, contact Mike Davis. Library databases are organized into these categories:

1.  Company Facts
2. 
Company News
3. 
Company History - Executive Biography
4.
 
Company Strategy and Financials
5.
 
Stockholder Profile
6.
 
Industry Analysis
7. 
Customers & Clients
8. 
Health, Safety & Environment

Laborers International Union, Local 596, Holyoke, Mass.

Visit UMass Special Collections & Archives

 

1. Company Facts: corporate hierachy, management, workforce, products, brands, competitors

Basic facts about companies are found in company directories. The first five databases listed are directories. Hoover's, DataMonitor and S&P provide brief reports. GuideStar is a public website offering the full-text of IRS Form 990 - nonprofits annual reports


Corporate Affiliations Directory provides corporate family tree and manager names at each level.

CorpTech Directory Directory of technology companies. ID new products, job growth for three years.     

ReferenceUSA Directory of all U.S. businesses - 14 million businesses. Search by location, type, size.

American Firms in Foreign Countries Directory of U.S. firms with substantial overseas operations.

Foreign Firms in the United States Directory of foreign firms with U.S. subsidiaries or branches.

Hoover's Company Profiles Brief description and facts about major companies worldwide.

DataMonitor SWOT Reports Corporate strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats.

S&P Stock Reports Current public company stock performance, by Standard & Poor's.

GuideStar Annual reports of nonprofit organizations - IRS Form 990s.
 

2. Company News Articles: trade journals, magazines, newspapers, news wires

News articles bring your research up-to-date. For national news, search ABI/Inform Global or Business Source Premier. For regional/local company news: ABI/Inform Dateline, Regional Business News and Massachusetts Newsstand.


ABI/Inform Global Trade journals and business magazines, best indexing, 3,000 journals, 1971-.

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry                   Comprehensive full-text trade journal library, 1975-.

ABI/Inform Dateline City & regional business newspapers - for hard-to-find local news, 1980s -.

Business Source Premier The library's largest collection of business periodicals, 5,000 titles indexed, 1965-.

LexisNexis Academic U.S daily newspapers. Select NEWS at top. Expand date range on search form.

Massachusetts Newsstand Daily newspapers from 8 Massachusetts cities, plus weekly business newspapers.

Regional Business News Business newspapers from U.S. regions and cities. ID business climate by location.

Wall Street Journal Every Wall Street Journal article - 1889 to today.
.
 

3. Company History - Executive Biography

Directory of Company Histories  
Part of BCRC database. Select Advanced Search icon, then Histories from the drop-down menu
Biography Resource Center
Biographical essays and news about executives and board members. Fact Sheet
LexisNexis Transcripts TV/radio transcripts of executive interviews. Select NEWS button, then TRANSCRIPTS.
Directory of Business Biographies   Biographical profiles of executives from the world's biggest and most influential companies.
.
 

4. Company Strategy and Financials

Annual reports provide information about a firm's current business strategy. Search Mergent Online for annual report, 1990s-. S&P Stock Reports, Morningstar and Value Line describe financial strategy. News databases listed in Section 2 should also be checked.

Mergent Online Form 10-K, 1993-; Annual Report to Stockholders, 1997-; 15 years of balance sheet financials. 
Morningstar Research Center Reports and stock screeners for all mutual funds and stocks. Filter stocks by performance variables.
S&P Stock Reports Select the COMPANIES tab at top, then Stock Reports from the Publications drop-down menu.
Value Line Investment Survey Stock reports and investment advice for 1,700 key stocks in 100 industries.
.
 

5. Stockholder Profiles - Owners and Investors

Morningstar Investment Research Center. Retrieve a company record, then select INSIDER TRADING in left column. Morningstar lists insider trading (executive/director stock ownership), concentrated fund owners, fund buying and selling, and top fund owners.

Mergent Online. Retrieve a company record, then select the RESEARCH tab, then check these subtabs - Insider Holdings, Insider Trades, Institutional Holdings. Mergent provides tables and graphs of insider activity.

 

6. Industry Analysis

IBISWorld Reports for every NAICS industry, based on Porter's Five Forces analysis.
First Research Analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance.
S&P Industry Surveys Standard & Poor's industry analysis from an investment risk perspective.
Encyclopedia of American Industries In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
 

7. Customers and Clients

DataMonitor Market Reports In Business & Company Resource Center - Go to Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
Faulkner Advisory - IT Studies    IT infrastructure, telecom, wireless, data networks, convergence, security, internet.
Forrester Research Focus on internet markets - business applications and consumer retailing.
First Research Analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance.
MarketResearch.com Computers, electronics, finance, food, healthcare, drugs, retailing, telecom.
Mintel Reports Retail markets, technology, consumer lifestyle, hospitality, leisure and tourism markets.
. .
 

8. Health - Safety - Environment

LexisNexis Company Dossier Select BUSINESS in top banner. Locate company record. Check LEGAL or TOPIC in left column.
LexisNexis Environmental Environmental news from 100s of environment-focused publication.
Labor & Employment Law Library State and federal employment laws, regulations and cases.
Mergent Online Locate company record, then select EDGAR tab. Review SEC Filings, especially Form 10-K.
.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait