Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Labor Studies  Tags: unions labor workers bargaining hr  

A Guide to Labor Studies Resources at the UMass Amherst Libraries
Last update: Jun 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/LaborStudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industries            Print Page
  
 

Research Strategy - Industry Classification - Publication Types

Research strategy. Start your research with the big picture - industry reports from IBISWorld and First Research. Reports provide basic facts about current industry conditions and performance. Next, supplement report findings with news articles from trade journals - in ABI/Inform or Business Source Premier. For help, contact Mike Davis, jmdavis@library.umass.edu.
Industry classification: Industry research requires a basic understanding of industry classification. U.S. industries are classified by the North American Industrial Classification Systems or NAICS (pronounced "nakes"). Implemented by the U.S., Canada and Mexico in 1997, NAICS replaces the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system.
Publication-types listed in this guide: industry reports, encyclopedias, trade journals, business magazines, daily newspapers, industry ratios, company directories, trade group directories, and links to U.S. government industry data.
 

Industry Reports - Macro-analysis of industry conditions, performance & strategy

IBISWorld Reports for every NAICS industry, based on Porter's Five Forces analysis.
First Research Analysis from a market strategy perspective. Screen industries by performance.
S&P Industry Surveys Standard & Poor's industry analysis from an investment risk perspective.
Encyclopedia of American Industries In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries In Business & Company Resource Center - Advanced Search - Industry Overviews.
ISI Emerging Markets Analysis of industries in 85 emerging market countries. Industry reports and news.
.
 

Trade Journals & Magazines - Current news on industries, products, companies & competitors

ABI/Inform Global Ttrade journals and business magazines, current plus archive, 3,000 journals, 1971-.
ABI/Inform Dateline City & regional business newspapers - for hard-to-find local news, 1980s -.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry Comprehensive full-text trade journal library, 1975-.
Business Source Premier The library's largest full-text collection of trade journals and magazines, 1965-.
LexisNexis Academic Daily newspapers, newsletter, newswires, and TV broadcast transcripts.
Massachusetts Newsstand Daily newspapers from 8 Massachusetts cities, plus weekly business newspapers.
Regional Business News Regional business newspapers from regions and cities across the US.
Springfield Republican Daily business news for Western Massachusetts - Hampden & Hampshire counties.
Wall Street Journal Full-text of every Wall Street Journal article from 1889 to present.
 

Industry Norms & Ratio Data - compare company performance to industry performance

D & B Industry Norms & Ratios Industry ratios - 14 solvency, efficiency, profitability ratios; seven asset ranges.
First Research Select the Industry Prospector tab at top. Sort industries by financial metrics.
Mergent Online Compare industry peer groups. Search by industry code. Sort/rank by ratio.
RMA Annual Statement Studies In DuBois Library reference collection - Call # UM Reference Desk HF5681.B2 R6.
.
 

Directories - Companies by Industry

Corporate Affiliations View corporate family trees for major U.S. and international companies.
CorpTech Directory Directory of U.S. technology manufacturers. Includes product-level indexing.
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database Directory of 1.5 million U.S. firms with sales > $5 million or employees > 65.
ReferenceUSA Directory of 14 million U.S. firms; Search by industry, location, or size.
.
 

Directories - Trade and Professional Associations

Business & Company Resource Center Go to Advanced Search screen, then select Associations from menu.
ASAE Gateway to Associations Online directory published by the American Society of Association Executives.
National Trade Associations Annual directory. In the Du Bois reference collection, call # REF HD2425.D53.
Small Business Sourcebook Associations by line of business. In Du Bois, call # REF HD2346.U5.S65.
World Guide to Trade Associations Associations listed by country. In Du Bois reference, call # REF HD2421.I54.
 

U.S. Government Industry Links - Data from primary sources

County Business Patterns County-level economic data by industry - employees counts and revenues.
Current Industrial Reports Monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity.
Economic Census of the U.S. Business establishments by industry, national and local. Conducted every 5 years.
Economic Statistics Briefing Room Current economic indicators from the White House.
Fedstats Gateway to statistics from 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Industry tables in located in Sections 17 through 27.
.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait