Spanish-language Media & Latinx Cultural Production

Reference Books on Latino/as

Located in the Learning Commons of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library.

• Atlas of Hispanic-American History UM Reference E184.S75 O287 2001 +
• Dictionary of Hispanic Biography UM Reference CT1343 .D53 1996 +
• Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture UM Reference E184.S75  E59 2004
• Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States UM Reference E184.S75  E587 2005
  
• Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America  UMass: Full-text available via Gale Virtual Reference Library. Click here to access
• Hispanic Americans: a Statistical Sourcebook UM Reference E184.S75H5655
• The Hispanic Databook: Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Hispanic Population, Including 23 Ethnic Backgrounds from Argentinian to Venezuelan, for 1,266 U.S. Counties and Cities Reference E184.S75 H567 2004
• Hispanics in Hollywood: an Encyclopedia of Film and Television UM Reference PN1995.9.H47 R49 1994
• Latino America: a State-by-State Encyclopedia UM Reference E184.S75 L35555 2008
• The Latino Encyclopedia UM Reference E184.S75 L357 1996
• Marketing to American Latinos: a Guide to the In-culture Approach UM Reference HC110.C6 V35 2000
  
• Notable Latino Americans: a Biographical Dictionary UM Reference E184.S75 M35 1997

Call Number Locations

The Library Catalog provides a call number and location for each item. The call number consists of an alphanumeric string based on the Library of Congress classification system.  Learn how to read a call number.

Note: If the Call Number of a book says "UM Reference" or "UM Du Bois Reserves," you will find it in the Learning Commons, lower level of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library. Otherwise, for BOOKS and PERIODICALS in the UM W.E.B. Du Bois Library, use the chart below. 

To find books at UMass, you have two options.

1. Start with the general search box on the library home page, www.library.umass.edu.  
Advantages:

• This catalog gives you access to libraries and collections throughout North America and beyond! It starts with UMass but does not limit you to our catalog.
• Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks!

2. Or, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog.
Advantages:
This catalog lets you search in some very specifc ways, for example, by Library of Congress Subject Heading. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). Search by author, title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject or Keyword search boxes. See below for some examples of relevant subject headings.

The Library of Congress subject heading for Latinos is "Hispanic Americans"

Sample searches for this class:

• Hispanic American Mass Media
• Hispanic American Motion Picture Actors and Actresses
• Hispanic American Motion Picture Producers and Directors
• Hispanic Americans and Mass Media
• Hispanic Americans In Motion Pictures

If UMass doesn't have the book(s) you need, try the other Five Colleges. You can order books easilly by clicking on the "Request Item" link.

Use Net Library and ebrary - for online books

TIP: Use WorldCat when UMass and Five College system are not sufficient. We will order books for you from almost anywhere - at no charge to you.