MICROBIO 360 - Writing in Microbiology
Get the Article
Use this button in many databases to see how to get a specific article.
If we have it, it will link to the full text via our online subscriptions.
Or, it will search the library catalog to show you the years/volumes we have in paper.
-- or help you request it via Interlibrary Loan.
In some resources (Google Scholar, e.g.) it will be a text link like this:
Get Full Text via UMLinks
As always, if you need help, contact me, or any library staff.
Choosing a database
The best databases to search depends on your topic. For example:
- PubMed is best for medical topics
- CAB Abstracts or Agricola for soil microorganisms
- Food safety, perhaps Food Science & Technology Abstracts
If you need help on where best to loo, ask me!
Databases for Microbiology - most likely useful
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Off-campus access: log-in with your NetID.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present. - ASM Online Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eleven journals from the American Society for Microbiology, in full text. Full text from 1995 to present; abstracts from 1992. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes content from journals, conferences, books, and U.S. patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research since 1926. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAB focuses on international development - providing access to the world’s applied life sciences literature, 1973 to present.
UMass Libraries' subscription includes: CAB Abstracts Archive; VetMed Resource. - Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present. - Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present. - Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
Suggested research databases for articles
Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
Biological & Agricultural Index
Articles in about 300 scholarly journals on agriculture, food production, nutrition, forestry, marine biology and plant pathology, 1984-present.
Biological Abstracts
Comprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.
BioMed Central
Free (open source) access to federally funded peer-reviewed biomedical research in over 100 recent journals.
Food Science & Technology Abstracts
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present.
GreenFILE
Scholarly journal and magazine articles on the environment and sustainability in building, agriculture and energy, 1973-current.
Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in important journals in all fields (despite the name). Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.
Zoological Record
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
