History 346: Twentieth-Century China

On Microfilm

North-China Herald
Call Number: UM Microfilm Storage A 113
Library has: 1850:Aug-1918:Dec,1919:Jul-1941:Nov.
Survey of China mainland press
Call Number: UM Microfilm Storage / A 785
Library has: 1 (1950:Nov)-4506 (1969:Sep),4568 (1970:Jan)-5469 (1973:Oct)
Survey of People’s Republic of China press
Call Number: UM Microfilm Storage / A 785Library Info
continues earlier. Library has: 5470 (1973:Oct)-6115 (1976:Jun),6119 (Jun)-6223 (1976:Nov),6250 (1977:Jun)-6434 (1977:Sep)
Daily report. [microform] / China FBIS.
Call Number: UM Microfiche Storage / PrEx 7.10:FBIS-CHI-(nos.)
began in 1981.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.

Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chinese newspaper of record, 1946-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Newspaper SG (Singapore)
NewspaperSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. You can search our digital archive of newspapers published between 1831-2009, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.

Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language newspapers published in China. Coverage spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues since March 22, 1897.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader has current newspapers and magazines from around the world. You can browse by country or by language. If you choose China - you will see both Chinese language and English language publications. If you choose Chinese language it will also show you newspapers and magazines published in Chinese in the United States or other countries.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. As of May 2022, Pressreader no longer supports Internet Explorer, please use another browser for the best experience.

People's Daily (in English)
Current news stories in English from the People's Daily. There is a searchable archive, and also a browse function that goes back to 1998.
South China Morning Post
See events in China unfold through Hong Kong eyes.
Xinhua News
CCTV News
Video and written news in English from China with a definite CPC slant.