This is the "Home" page of the "Art History 391B: Death in the Roman Empire" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History 391B: Death in the Roman Empire  

Last Updated: Feb 17, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/romandeath Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Article databases

Art History 391B: Death in the Roman Empire

Below are the principle databases which can help you access scholarly articles on this topic. Rememebr to go beyond the art databases to search resources on classical antiquity generally, such as L'annee philologique, and especially JSTOR.

Books with subject headings like Rome--Social life and customs might also hold valuable information. Remember to take your search from the Five Colleges catalog to Worldcat for more books.

 

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Grove Dictionary of Art
The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present. (JSTOR is 100% full-text.)

L'Annee Philologique
Citations to journal articles and books in the field of classics. Search for ancient authors using the Latin form of the name. 1949-present.

Zenon DAI
Holdings of the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

 

Reference sources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (Online)

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. REF DE5.N4813 2002

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. REF DE5.O92 N4813 1998

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology. REF DE5.S7 1867

 

 

Book searching

Beyond searching the Five Colleges combined library catalog, students should also search WorldCat, which will give them access to a database with over a billion holdings worldwide.

You can access UMA WorldCat on the library home page, as a dedicated database search, and as a free, publicly-accessible site. However, the last will not function with Interlibrary Loan.

Some suggested subject headings include:

  LinkDeath -- Social aspects -- Rome.
LinkFuneral rites and ceremonies -- Rome.
LinkBereavement -- Social aspects -- Rome.
LinkBurial -- Rome.
LinkEpitaphs -- Rome.
LinkSepulchral monuments -- Rome.

 

For further asistance, please contact

Dr. Peter Stern
Fine Arts Bibliographer
545-3967
pstern@library.umass.edu

 

RefWorks

Refworks logo

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

More up-to-date than using 3"x5' index cards!

Index cards

© 2014 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip