Primary Sources
- American Memory
Large collection of reproductions of primary source material from U.S. Library of Congress: pictures, pamphlets and recordings. Earliest dates from 1400s. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary source material for life as it was lived by 1,000 women in North America, 1675-1950. - UMass Amherst Special Collections & University Archives
Catalog of SCUA, which includes many digitized primary materials related to the history of social change, the people and cultures of New England, and the University of Massachusetts. - Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Primary and secondary sources on women's involvement in historical events. Includes books, pamphlets, papers, and articles. - American Decades Primary Sources
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements...
Newspapers
Find contemporary accounts of aspects of American life through history by searching historical newspapers. The Libraries maintain a list of newspaper databases. Good places to start include:
- Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago. - LexisNexis Academic
Massive database of US and international newspapers; also includes transcripts of TV and radio news programs, university newspapers, and much more. - African American Newspapers
Seven nineteenth-century African American newspapers in full text, including advertising, 1827-1902. - Black Studies Center
Combines important tools for Afro-American studies (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to provide access to scholarly journals, dissertations, historical newspapers, and articles. - Historical Chicago Defender
Influential black weekly newspaper, searchable, in image files, 1905-1975.
Librarian |
Isabel EspinalOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6817
iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Afro American Studies, Native American Indian Studies, Information Literacy
About Me
I do Reference and Research Consultations: Fall 2009 - Mondays 10:30-12:30 & Wednesdays 4-6, Reference & Research Assistance Desk, Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. And by appointment.
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6817
iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Afro American Studies, Native American Indian Studies, Information Literacy
About Me
I do Reference and Research Consultations: Fall 2009 - Mondays 10:30-12:30 & Wednesdays 4-6, Reference & Research Assistance Desk, Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. And by appointment.
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 





Loading content... please wait