Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Communication 

Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Film & Media             Print Page
  
 

.

 
 

Films & Media

Films in the Libraries
To search for films owned by the UMass Amherst Library or Amherst, Hampshire, Mt. Holyoke and Smith Colleges, in the Library Catalog search by title, subject or author (the director is listed as the author) and, if necessary, click "Limit" to specify Material Type "VIDEOS, FILMS, SLIDES." Students can borrow the Library's films for three days or view them in the Media area on Floor 3 whenever the Library is open. If your instructor has placed his or her own copy of a film on Reserve, ask for it on Floor 3.

UMass Amherst students can also borrow films in person from  the Four Colleges for three days. Staff and faculty can borrow films for five days.

Reference Books for Film
The Reference Collection on the Main floor of Du Bois Library includes many guides to film genres and national cinema in the Reference collection around call number PN 1992-1998. Some examples are listed below

Films by Genre  (Ref. PN 1998 L63 1993)
Starting point for research into film genres.

Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema (Ref. PN 1993.4 I8 R277 1999)
A good example of guides to national cinema.

Reference Books for the Industry
Also in Reference are various media industry directories. 

Gale Directory of Media and Markets Ref Desk Z 6951 N11 )
Find print and broadcast media in each town. Also online.

Kemp's Film TV and Video Yearbook Ref PN1998 A1 K391)  )
International directory of production facilities.

Reference Sources for Film Criticism

Film criticism is usually published as articles in film journals. Thoughtful reviews in popular magazines also provide critical insights.

Film Literature Index (Ref. Z5784.M9F45)
Covers international scholarly and trade film journals from 1973 to present.

Film Review Index
 (Ref. Z5784.M9 F513 1986+)
Provides citations to reviews in popular magazines 1882-1985.

International Index to the Performing Arts
Library database indexing film, dance and theater journals. Some coverage back to 1920.

 

Contact Me

Liz Fitzpatrick
Contact Info:
Reference Dept.
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts Amherst
413 545-5963
Send Email

Subjects:
Anthropology, Communication, Comparative Literature

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait