Library Resources for Communication
Welcome to the Communication Research Guide!
DATABASES for scholarly journal articles
If full-text isn't provided, click the red UMLinks button in the citation to check for other options.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides citations, abstracts and full text of articles from several hundred sources, including scholarly journals in communication, interpersonal communication, mass media, and journalism journals, plus articles on communication published in the journals of other disciplines, and mass media trade journals. Some coverage back to 1920's-
- Media History Digital Library
Periodicals of the early film era -- trade journals, fan magazines, and scholarly journals, 1890's - 1950's.
Indexes and summarizes major articles, reports, and books concerned with communication theory, interpersonal communication, mass communication, organization communication, small group communication, speech, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, journalism, public opinion, public relations, radio and television. 1984-
- Communication Studies: Sage Fulltext Collection
Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by Sage and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles.
Related Disciplines and Interdisciplinary
Bibliographic citations and abstracts of articles appearing in 1600 leading business and management journals published worldwide. Over 700 titles are delivered in full text. Strong coverage of academic journals. 1971-
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education,physical, and biological sciences. 1975-
- Digital Dissertations
Bibliographic citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses completed at primarily American and Canadian colleges and universities since 1861. Includes full text of the first 24 pages of most recent (1997- ) dissertations and full text of recent UMass Amherst dissertations. To borrow theses and dissertations from other institutions, place a request through Interlibrary Loan . 1861-
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences. 1980-
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Citations to articles which discuss or reprint tests and measures in the social sciences and various health fields. 1985-
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Citations to articles from social science and humanities journals in English and Spanish. 1970-
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Citations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry. 1920-.
- Left Index
Citations to articles in scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals with a leftist perspective, covering areas such as labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. 1982-
Citations to articles from law reviews and law-related journals. 1980-
Access to Congressional bills and reports; public laws and regulations; executive and federal agency documents; a catalog of government publications, and links to government websites. 1937-
- MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations relating to literature, literary theory, film, and cultural studies. 1963-
- PAIS International
Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages. 1970-
- Project Muse
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword. 1996-
Citations and abstracts for psychology journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. 1887-
- Web of Science
Covers almost all English-language scholarly journals. Provides citations, abstracts, and lists of works cited. Social sciences journals are covered since 1956.
I currently work in the Scholarly Communication office on open education resources (OER). Previously I worked in Special Collections & University Archives. I am a 1994 graduate of the UMass Communication Department and a former employee of the Media Education Foundation.