Database trials
The UMass Library has a trial subscription to the African American Music Reference database. The trial will continue through November 9, 2008.
- African American Music Reference Biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies about blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, and gospel.
UMass Library Jazz Research Links
In addition to Music databases and the Library catalog, these resources of the UMass Library are useful for jazz research:
- Afro American Studies databases This is a subset of the "Cultural and area studies" database list.
- Historical Boston Globe The entire Boston Globe, searchable, in image files, 1872-1924.
- Historical Chicago Defender Influential black weekly newspaper, searchable, in image files, 1905-1975.
- Historical New York Times The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.
- JSTOR Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
- WorldCat The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries. Material not owned by UMass Amherst can usually be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Jazz Research Links
- American Memory Project - Library of Congress
See "Performing Arts, Music" - Institute of Jazz Studies (Rutgers University)
- Library of Congress - Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Digital library of music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress. - Princeton University Library - Jazz Research
- Rutgers University Libraries - Jazz Research Guide
- University of North Texas - Jazz Research Portal
- William Ransom Hogan Archive of New Orleans Jazz (Tulane University)
Music Librarian |
Pam JuenglingContact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Reference Department
154 Hicks Way
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-1858
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Reference Department
154 Hicks Way
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-1858
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 



Loading content... please wait