Journals about food science
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Food Science 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/foodsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find articles             Print Page
  
 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian!

Basic Search Tips

What's a Database?

RefWorks - citation manager

Subject specialist librarians

Food Science Department

Getting the article

UMLinks

You will see this UMLinks button in most of the databases.

Use it to find the full text of your article online if we have access through the libraries.

Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print

--or link you to Interlibrary Loan to get it from elsewhere.

 

Research Databases - search for articles

IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.

ystarsmall Best Bet Databases -The most useful for finding articles on Food Science. Agricola & CAB Abstracts can be searched simultaneously.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts ystarsmall
Covers articles in 1,800 food science journals and other scholarly material on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present.

Agricola ystarsmall
Covers all aspects of agriculture broadly defined. Citations are from journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, technical reports and more. Produced by the US Dept of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. 1970-present.
UMass Amherst's s
ubscription gives you easy access to the articles. Agricola also has a public access interface through the USDA website which you can use when you are no longer a student.

CAB Abstracts starsmall.gif
Source for journal articles and other material covering the same fields as Agricola (above). Produced by the British Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux. 1910-present

PubMed starsmall.gif available to public
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database
of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present. Public access version


These are also useful - some general, some specialized. If you need help picking, ask me!

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

ASM Online Journals
Eleven journals from the American Society for Microbiology, in full text from 1995 to present; abstracts before that back to 1992.

Biological & Agricultural Index
Articles in about 300 scholarly journals on agriculture, food production, nutrition, forestry, marine biology and plant pathology, 1984-present.

Biological Abstracts
Co
mprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and books relating to life sciences, 1969-present.

BioMed Central
Free (open source) access to federally funded peer-reviewed biomedical research in over 100 recent journals.

BioOne
Bioscience research journals in full text, 1998-present.

Engineering Village
Indexes engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.

Genetics Abstracts
Citations to articles on genetics research, updated monthly.
Note: we have access to only the current year and last year.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.

Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in important journals in all fields (despite the name). Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

      
     

    Science Librarian

    Profile ImageNaka Ishii
    Contact Info:
    Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
    Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
    My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
    ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait